

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee

Wanika Fisher, Chair
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair
Wala Blegay
Eric C. Olson
Ingrid S. Watson

Staff Support:
Sandra Eubanks – Committee Director
Leroy Maddox, Jr. – Legislative Attorney
Rhonda Riddick – Administrative Aide

Thursday, April 4, 2024

2:30 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 4 - Chair Wanika Fisher, Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins,

Council Member Eric Olson and Council Member Ingrid

Watson

Absent: 1 - Council Member Wala Blegay

Other Council Member Present:

Krystal Oriadha

LEGISLATION

CB-006-2024

AN ACT CONCERNING RE-ENTRY PREFERRED HIRING PROGRAM for the purpose of establishing the Re-Entry Preferred Hiring Program; establishing the Re-Entry Preferred Hiring Program Fund; providing for the administration of the Re-Entry Preferred Hiring Program and Re-Entry Preferred Hiring Program Fund; requiring a certain appropriation; requiring County agencies, departments and offices to provide a preference for hiring non-violent ex-offenders; providing an exception to the hiring preference requirement; requiring reporting requirements; and generally relating to re-entry hiring.

Sponsor(s): Oriadha, Blegay, Burroughs and Hawkins

Attachment(s): B2024006

CB-006-2024 Summary

CB-006-2024 PAFI Reentry Prefered Hiring

Program - Final

CB-006-2024 Re-Entry Amendment

Held in Committee

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Olson and Watson

Absent: 1 - Blegay

CB-009-2024

AN ACT CONCERNING 9-1-1 VOLUNTARY EMERGENCY REGISTRY for the purpose of establishing the 9-1-1 Registry Program to alert certain first responders of certain behaviors, diagnoses, or traits of individuals with special needs may present during certain encounters with first responders.

Sponsor(s): Oriadha and Olson

Attachment(s): B2024009

CB-009-2024 Summary

CB-009-2024 PAFI Voluntary 911 Registry -

<u>Final</u>

amended (1)

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Olson and Watson

Absent: 1 - Blegay

amended (2)

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Olson and Watson

Absent: 1 - Blegay

amended (3)

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Olson and Watson

Absent: 1 - Blegay

Favorably recommended with amendments

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Olson and Watson

Absent: 1 - Blegay

BUDGET WORKSESSION

BU 2024-18 Circuit Court

Attachment(s): 1. FY 2025 Circuit Court_Budget Report_Final

2. Circuit Court- REC'D 3-193. Circuit Court- REC'D 3-29

Budget discussion held; no votes taken

BU 2024-19 Arts & Humanities Council

Attachment(s): 1. FY 2025 Arts and Humanities

Council Budget Report Final

2. Arts & Humanities Council- REC'D 3-27 PGAHC 2024 BudgetHearingPresentation

Budget discussion held; no votes taken

BU 2024-20 Orphans' Court

Attachment(s): 1. FY 2025 Orphans Court Budget

Report Final

2. Orphans' Court- REC'D 3-19

Budget discussion held; no votes taken

Adjourned

adjourned

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Olson and Watson

Absent: 1 - Blegay

Others Present:

Sandra Eubanks, Director

Rhonda Riddick, Committee Aide

Leroy Maddox, Legislative Attorney

Amanda Denison, Chief Legislative Attorney

Malcolm Moody, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst

Roger Banegas, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst

Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison, CEX

Barry Stanton, DCAO for Public Safety, CEX

Dinora Hernandez, OOL

Stanley Earley, Director, OMB

Brent Johnson, Operating Budget Officer, OMB

Mary Proctor-Swan, Budget Management Analyst, OMB

Andrew Stinavage, Budget Management Analyst, OMB

Shanai Jordan, Budget Management Analyst, OMB

Brian Halloran, Capital Budget Officer, OMB

Daneeka Varner Cotton, Administrative Judge, Circuit Court

Charleston L. Carter, Court Administrator, Circuit Court

Grace T. King, Finance Director, Circuit Court

Erica Payne-Santiago, Deputy Court Administrator, Circuit Court

Antonio Deans, Senior Budget Management Analyst, Circuit Court

Rhonda Dallas, CEO and Chief Curator, Arts & Humanities Council

Donna Foster Dotson, Film Office General Manager, Arts & Humanities Council

Sherri Bryant-Moore, Director Development and Community Grants, Arts & Humanities Council

Kisha Mason, Director Marketing and Communications, Arts & Humanities Council

Angela Archer, Manger Operations and Finance, Arts & Humanities Council

Jennifer Riedel, Administrative Assistant, Orphans Court

Wendy A. Cartwright, Chief Judge, Orphans Court