

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

11:30 AM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Jolene Ivey at 11:56 a.m. with 11 members present at roll call.

Present 10 - Jolene Ivey

Sydney Harrison Thomas Dernoga Wala Blegay

Edward Burroughs Wanika Fisher Calvin S. Hawkins

Eric Olson

Krystal Oriadha Ingrid Watson

Remote 1 - Mel Franklin

Also present:

Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator

Colette Gresham, Deputy Council Administrator

Karen Zavakos, Acting Associate Council Administrator

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council

Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council

James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council

Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive

Dinora Hernandez, Associate County Attorney

LEGISLATION

CR-022-2024 Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING ZONING ORDINANCE TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS - EXTENSION OF TIME FOR ACCESS TO PRIOR

ORDINANCE for the purpose of approving, as a legislative enactment of the District Council having the force and effect of law, an extension of the time for applications to be approved and considered under the prior Ordinance from April 1, 2024, to April 1, 2026.

Sponsor(s): Ivey, Harrison, Watson, Hawkins and Fisher

Attachment(s): R2024022

CR-022-2024 Summary

CR-022-2024 Public Commments COW 3-26-2024

Karen T. Zavakos, Acting Associate Council Administrator, provided an overview of CR-022-2024. Dinora Hernandez, Associate County Attorney, Office of Law noted that after reviewing the draft, the Office of Law found the legislation to be in proper legislative form. Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive, noted that the County Executive is in support of CR-022-2024. Janet Gingold, Greg Smith, Jon Robinson, Dan Smith, K. Gray, Maureen Fine, Melissa Daston, Douglas Edwards, Carol Hurwitch, Jill Oliver, Alveta Addison, Kathy Bartolimeo, Bill Orleans, Nate Forman, Thomas Haller, Marva Jo Camp, Ed Gibbs, Terri Hruby and Andrew Roud signed up to speak on this item.

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Chair Ivey, to called for the previous question for this resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Burroughs, Fisher, Franklin,

Hawkins and Watson

Nay: 2 - Blegay and Olson

Abstain: 1 - Oriadha

A motion was made by Chair Ivey, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Franklin, Hawkins and Watson

Nay: 5 - Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Olson and Oriadha

Add8-24

Draft 1

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this additions package be accepted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Fisher, Franklin, Hawkins, Olson

and Watson

Abstain: 3 - Blegay, Burroughs and Oriadha

CR-025-2024

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS-EXTENSION OF TIME FOR ACCESS TO PRIOR

<u>SUBDIVISION REGULATIONS</u> for the purpose of approving, as a temporary measure of the governing body for Prince George's County, an extension of the time for applications to be approved and considered under the prior Subdivision Regulations for an additional two (2) years, from April 1, 2024, to April 1, 2026.

Sponsor(s): Ivey, Watson, Harrison and Hawkins

Attachment(s): R2024025

CR-025-2024 Summary

Karen T. Zavakos, Acting Associate Council Administrator, provided an overview of CR-025-2024. Dinora Hernandez, Associate County Attorney, Office of Law noted that the Office of Law has not had an opportunity to fully consider CR-025-2024. Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive, noted that the County Executive supports CR-025-2024. Dan Smith, Greg Smith, Melissa Datson, Jon Robinson, Janet Gingold, Tom Haller, Ed Gibbs and Earl Bracey signed up to speak on this item.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Franklin, Hawkins and Watson

Nay: 5 - Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Olson and Oriadha

ADJ36-24

Draft 1

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this meeting be adjourned passed. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.