

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, July 1, 2025

1:15 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was convened by Chair Edward P. Burroughs, III, at 2:01 p.m. with 11 members present at roll call.

Present

11 - Sydney Harrison

Wala Blegay

Thomas Dernoga

Wanika Fisher

Calvin S. Hawkins

Eric Olson

Ingrid Watson

Jolene Ivey

Krystal Oriadha

Edward Burroughs

Shayla Adams-Stafford

Also present:

Colette Gresham, Acting Council Administrator

Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator

Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council

James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council

Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide

Calvin Tyson, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive

Dinora Hernandez, Associate County Attorney, Office of Law

Devan Martin, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of County Executive

Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney

Rana Hightower, Director, PHED Committee J. Kenneth Battle, Director, TIEE Committee

APPOINTMENTS

<u>APPT-7-25</u>

Draft 1

Appointment of the following individual to the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC) for Prince George's County:

Honorable Darryl Barnes

Appointment/Chair

Replacing: Peter Shapiro Term Expiration: 6/14/2029

Attachment(s): M-NCCPC Chair Appointment Transmittal

M-NCCPC Chair Appointment Package

Rana Hightower, Director, Planning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee (PHED), provided an overview of the appointment to the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC). Danielle Hunter, Appointments Liaison, Office of the County Executive, introduced the appointee and spoke to his credentials and qualifications. The appointee, the Honorable Darryl Barnes, provided comments and responded to Council Member questions and comments.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Blegay, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

11 - Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Watson, Ivey, Oriadha, Burroughs and Adams-Stafford

LEGISLATION

CR-053-2025

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE 2018 WATER AND SEWER PLAN

(MARCH 2025 CYCLE OF AMENDMENTS) for the purpose of changing the water and sewer category designations of properties within the 2018 Water and Sewer Plan.

Attachment(s): R2025053

CR-053-2025 Attachments A & B

CR-053-2025 Summary

CR-053-2025 Report

CR-053-2025 Staff Report

CR-053-2025 Transmittal

Kenneth Battle, Director, Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment (TIEE) Committee, provided an overview for CR-053-2025. Calvin Tyson, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive, noted that the County Executive takes no position on the legislation.

A motion was made by Chair Burroughs, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha, that this Resolution be Reported out with no recommendation to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

11 - Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Watson, Ivey, Oriadha, Burroughs and Adams-Stafford

CR-080-2025

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING ADEQUATE PUBLIC SAFETY

RESPONSE TIME TEST for the purpose of temporarily suspending the current police response time calculations of the Adequate Public Safety Test.

Sponsor(s): Oriadha, Watson and Fisher

Attachment(s): R2025080

CR-080-2025 Summary

CR-080-2025 OOL Comments

Rana Hightower, Director, Planning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee (PHED), provided a overview for CR-080-2025. Devan Martin, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of County Executive, provided comments. Prince George's County Police Chief George Nader provided comments. Lakisha Hull, AICP, Planning Director, M-NCPPC, provided comments. Council Vice Chair Oriadha, as proposer, provided comments. Matthew Tedesco, Edward Gibbs, and Norman Rivera signed up to speak on this item.

A motion was made by Chair Burroughs, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha, that this Resolution be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Dernoga, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Ivey, Oriadha, Burroughs

and Adams-Stafford

Absent: Harrison, Blegay and Hawkins

ADJOURN

THIS MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 3:48 PM

A motion was made by Vice Chair Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Fisher, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye: 8 - Dernoga, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Ivey, Oriadha, Burroughs

and Adams-Stafford

Absent: Harrison, Blegay and Hawkins