

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Zoning Minutes - Final Sitting as the District Council

Edward P. Burroughs, III, Chair, District 8 Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair, District 7 Wala Blegay, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Wanika Fisher, District 2 Sydney J. Harrison, District 9 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large Jolene Ivey, At-Large Eric C. Olson, District 3 Ingrid S. Watson, District 4 Vacant - District 5 (effective: 12/05/2024)

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Monday, May 5, 2025

10:00 AM

Council Hearing Room

10:00 AM CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 27-131 and 27-132(a) of the Zoning Ordinance, the District Council meeting was convened by Council Chair Burroughs at 10:23 a.m. with seven members present at roll call. (Absent: Council Members Dernoga, Harrison, and Hawkins) (Vacant - District 5 (effective: 12/05/2024)).

| Present: | / - | Council Member Wala Blegay |
|----------|-----|----------------------------------|
| | | Council Member Wanika Fisher |
| | | Council Member Eric Olson |
| | | Council Member Ingrid Watson |
| | | Chair Edward Burroughs |
| | | Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha |
| | | Council Member Jolene Ivey |
| Absent: | | Council Member Sydney Harrison |
| | | Council Member Thomas Dernoga |
| | | Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins |

Also Present: Karen T. Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator Jim Campbell, Land Use & Development Specialist Rajesh Kumar, Principal Counsel to the District Council Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council Akinjide Adeyemo, Zoning Reference Aide, Office of the Clerk

MOMENT OF SILENCE

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Olson.

APPROVAL OF DISTRICT COUNCIL MINUTES

MINDC 04282025 District Council Minutes Dated April 28, 2025

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council MemberBlegay, that these Minutes be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:Aye:7 -Blegay, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Burroughs, Oriadha and IveyAbsent:Harrison, Dernoga and Hawkins

Attachment(s): 4-28-2025 District Council Minutes Draft

ITEM(S) FOR DISCUSSION

| <u>DSP-23020</u> | <u>Central Industrial Park</u> | |
|---------------------------------------|--|--|
| <u>Applicant(s)</u> : | American Resource Management Group Limited Partnership | |
| <u>Location</u> : <u>Request</u> : | Located on the east side of Westhampton Avenue, approximately 200 feet south of its intersection with MD 214 (Central Avenue) (1.63 Acres; LTO-E/MIO Zones (Prior; I-1/D-D-O/M-I-O Zones). Requesting approval of a Detailed Site Plan (DSP) to change to the list of permitted uses for the subject property, within the Light Industrial (I-1) and | |
| Council District: | Development District Overlay (D-D-O) Zones. 6 | |
| <u>Appeal by Date:</u> | 4/24/2025 | |
| Action by Date: | 5/27/2025 | |
| <u>History</u> : | | |

Council referred item to staff for preparation of an approving document, with conditions (Vote:7-0; Absent: Council Member Dernoga, Harrison and Hawkins).

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Detailed Site Plan (Prior Ordinance) be referred for document. The motion carried by the following vote:

| Aye: | 7 - Blegay, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Burroughs, Oriadha and Ivey | |
|------------------------|--|--|
| Absent: | Harrison, Dernoga and Hawkins | |
| <u>Attachment(s)</u> : | DSP-23020-Zoning Agenda Item Summary | |
| | DSP-23020-Notice of Mandatory Review Notice | |
| | DSP-23020-Presentation Slides | |
| | DSP-23020-Planning Board Resolution | |
| | DSP-23020-PORL | |
| | DSP-23020-Technical Staff Report | |
| | DSP-23020-Planning Board Record | |
| | DSP-23020-Transcripts 2-27-2025 | |
| | DSP-23020-PZC Notice of Intention to | |
| | Participate District Council 4-28-2025 | |

REFERRED FOR DOCUMENT

| <u>DSP-24003</u> | Space Maker Self Storage | |
|---------------------------|--|--|
| <u>Applicant(s)</u> : | Layton Warehouse LLC | |
| <u>Location</u> : | Located on the east side of Westhampton Avenue, approximately 500 feet south of its intersection with MD 214 (Central Avenue) (3.30 Acres; IE/LTO-E/MIO Zones (Prior; I-1/M-I-O Zones). | |
| <u>Request</u> : | Requesting approval of a Detailed Site Plan (DSP) for the physical site improvements necessary to convert an existing 72,114-square-foot building (Building A, with rehabilitation) for use as a consolidated storage facility and the construction of a new 58,165-square-foot building, which also will be used as a consolidated storage facility (Building B). | |
| <u>Council District</u> : | 6 | |
| <u>Appeal by Date</u> : | 3/27/2025 | |
| <u>Review by Date</u> : | 3/27/2025 | |
| <u>Action by Date</u> : | 5/9/2025 | |
| <u>History</u> : | | |

Council adopted prepared order of approval with conditions (Vote:7-0; Absent: Council Member Dernoga, Harrison and Hawkins).

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Detailed Site Plan (Prior Ordinance) be approved with conditions. The motion carried by the following vote:

| Aye: | 7 - Blegay, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Burroughs, Oriadha and Ivey | |
|------------------------|--|--|
| Absent: | Harrison, Dernoga and Hawkins | |
| <u>Attachment(s)</u> : | DSP-24003-Zoning Agenda Item Summary | |
| | DSP-24003-Notice of Final Decision of the | |
| | District Council | |
| | DSP-24003-Presentation Slides | |
| | DSP-24003-Notice of Oral Argument Hearing | |
| | DSP-24003-Planning Board Resolution | |
| | DSP-24003-PORL | |
| | DSP-24003-Technical Staff Report | |
| | DSP-24003-Transcripts 1-30-2025 | |
| | DSP-24003- Planning Board Record | |
| | DSP-24003-PZC Notice of Intention to | |
| | Participate District Council 4-14-2025 | |
| | | |

ADJ46-25 ADJOURN

<u>History</u>:

THIS MEETING ADJOURNED AT 10:31 A.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Blegay, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Burroughs, Oriadha and Ivey

Absent: Harrison, Dernoga and Hawkins