

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Jolene Ivey, Chair, District 5
Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9
Wala Blegay, District 6
Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Krystal Oriadha, District 7
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, December 5, 2023

11:00 AM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

11:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was convened at 11:15 a.m. by Chair Thomas E. Dernoga, with eleven council members present at roll call.

Present:

11 - Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Vice Chair Sydney Harrison
Council Member Wala Blegay
Council Member Thomas Dernoga
Council Member Ingrid Watson
Council Member Eric Olson
Council Member Wanika Fisher
Council Member Edward Burroughs

Chair Jolene Ivey

Council Member Krystal Oriadha Council Member Mel Franklin Also present:

Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator
Colette Gresham, Acting Deputy Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant
James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant
Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer

INVOCATION:

The Invocation was provided by Rev. Wayne Bumbry, LeDetroit Baptist Church, Oxon Hill, MD. Council Member Harrison requested prayer for unity in the world, for God's healing hand to be present in the lives of every family that is going through something and for the end of violence in the world. Council Member Oriadha requested prayer for the family of Rick Gordon in his passing. Council Member Fisher requested prayer for all the victims of vehicular and pedestrian accident fatalities including a man who was recently killed in a vehicular accident in the Adelphi community. Council Member Franklin requested prayer for all those dealing with health issues and for the healing of their mind, body and soul. Council Member Watson requested prayer for all Council Members and that they move forward with the spirit of unity and collaboration. Vice Chair Blegay requested prayer for Council Member Franklin and all those dealing with health challenges.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Franklin.

BUSINESS MEETING

1. REMARKS BY THE 2023 COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Outgoing Council Chair Dernoga and Vice Chair Blegay provided remarks as they reflected on the County Council's achievements in the 2023 legislative year and exchanged gifts commemorating their time as Chair and Vice Chair.

2. ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2024 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

CHAIR-2024

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 5, 2023 TO DECEMBER 3, 2024.

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Watson, that Council Member Ivey be elected as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Hawkins, Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Watson, Olson, Fisher, Burroughs, Ivey, Oriadha and Franklin

VICECHAIR-2024

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL VICE CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 5, 2023 TO DECEMBER 3, 2024.

A motion was made by Council Member Burroughs, seconded by Council Member Oriadha, that Council Member Blegay be elected as Vice Chair. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Blegay, Dernoga, Olson, Burroughs and Oriadha

Nay 4 - Hawkins, Harrison, Watson and Ivey

Abstain 2 - Fisher and Franklin

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Fisher, that Council Member Harrison be elected as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Hawkins, Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Watson, Olson, Fisher, Burroughs, Ivey, Oriadha and Franklin

3. EXCHANGE OF GAVEL

4. REMARKS BY INCOMING 2024 COUNCIL CHAIR

Council Chair Jolene Ivey thanked her colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chair and for entrusting her with the gavel of leadership. She also thanked County Executive Angela Alsobrooks for her leadership. Chair Ivey provided additional comments on achievements during the 2023 Council Session and goals for the 2024 Council Session, while also expressing a hope for unity.

5. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Approval of County Council Minutes

MIN 11212023

County Council Minutes dated November 21, 2023

Draft 1

Attachment(s): 11212023

These Minutes were approved.

Consent1-24

Draft 1

MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Council Member Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Hawkins, Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Watson, Olson,

Fisher, Burroughs, Ivey, Oriadha and Franklin

ADJ1-24 Draft 1

ADJOURN

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 11:46 AM.

A motion was made by Council Member Dernoga, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by unanimous vote.

Aye

11 - Hawkins, Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Watson, Olson, Fisher, Burroughs, Ivey, Oriadha and Franklin

Prepared by:
Edgar Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council