

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY

"Serving the People of Prince George's County!"

Jolene Ivey Chair Council District 5

March 19, 2024

The Hon. Michael A. Jackson, Chair Prince George's County Senate Delegation 3West Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 The Hon. Nicole Williams, Chair Prince George's County House Delegation Lowe House Office Building, Room 207 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Re: Prince George's County Council's Position on General Assembly Legislation

Dear Senator Jackson & Delegate Williams:

It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Prince George's County Council, to transmit our position on pending proposed State legislation for the 2024 General Assembly Session. The Council met on March 19, 2024. The enclosed report reflects our positions on General Assembly bills as they are currently drafted.

The Council appreciates the opportunity to work together with you and your colleagues to address issues important to our citizens and the operation of Prince George's County. Should you have any questions or need additional information please do not hesitate to contact me. For your convenience my office phone number is (301) 952-3864.

Thanks again, for your favorable consideration of the Council's positions.

Sincerely,

Jolene Ivey Council Chair

Jolene Avey

Enclosures

cc: Hon. Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive

Prince George's County Senate Delegation Prince George's County House Delegation

Hon. Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair - House Ways & Means Committee

Hon. Luke Clippinger, Chair - House Judiciary Committee

Hon. Marc Korman, Chair - House Environment & Transportation Committee

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNCIL

"Serving the People of Prince George's County!"

Jolene Ivey
Chair
Council District 5

COUNTY COUNCIL REPORT

The Prince George's County Council met on March 19, 2024 with the following Members present:

Council Member, Jolene Ivey, Chair

Council Member, Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair

Council Member, Thomas E. Dernoga

Council Member, Wala Blegay

Council Member, Edward Burroughs, III

Council Member, Wanilea B. Fisher

Council Member, Mel Franklin

Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II

Council Member, Eric C. Olson

Council Member, Krystal Oriadha

Council Member, Ingrid S. Watson

The Council voted for the following positions on the respective bills:

STATEWIDE BILLS

SB 475 HB 583	Center for Firearm Violence Prevention – Establishment – SUPPORT
SB 705 HB 728	Health Insurance - Qualified Resident Enrollment Program (Access to Care Act) - SUPPORT
SB 155 SUPPORT HB 212	Vehicle Laws - Noise Abatement Monitoring Systems - Pilot Program -