

# **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee

Wala Blegay, Chair Wanika Fisher, Vice Chair Eric C. Olson Krystal Oriadha Ingrid S. Watson

Staff Support:

Sandra Eubanks – Committee Director, x25353 Leroy Maddox – Legislative Attorney, x-23846 Ramon Gonzalez – Legislative Attorney, x-23476 Reese Espy Glassman, Legislative Officer, x24900 Joel Peebles, Legislative Officer, x25390 Rhonda Riddick – Committee Assistant, x24525

Thursday, June 5, 2025

1:30 PM

**Committee Room 2027** 

## VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

## **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

# **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order by Chair Blegay at 1:52 p.m. with 5 members present at roll call.

**Present:** 5 - Council Member Eric Olson, Council Member Ingrid Watson, Chair Wala Blegay, Vice Chair Wanika Fisher and Council Member Krystal Oriadha

Other Council Members Present: Thomas Dernoga Sydney Harrison

# **LEGISLATION**

#### CR-054-2025

#### A RESOLUTION CONCERNING PUBLIC HEALTH IMPACT

INVESTIGATION for the purpose of directing the Prince George's County Department of Health to conduct a study of the public health impact of fast food, liquor and tobacco store locations and distribution on neighborhoods in Prince George's County.

**Sponsor(s):** Oriadha and Burroughs **Attachment(s):** CR-54-2025 Draft2

R2025054

CR-054-2025 Summary

CR-054-2025 PAFI Public Health Impact

**Investigation - Final** 

CR-54-2025 OOL Comment

# Favorably recommended

Aye: 5 - Olson, Watson, Blegay, Fisher and Oriadha

# **BRIEFING**

#### BR 06052025

#### OPIOID ABATEMENT INITIATIVES

Behavioral Health Division, Health Department

Dr. Matthew Levy, Health Officer

Jacqueline Somerville, Psy.D., Associate Director

Joe Woods, Program Chief

Samantha Karon, MPH, Program Manager

**Attachment(s):** Opioid Abatement Initiatives

**Briefing held** 

#### **ADJOURN**

Adjourned at 2:54 pm

# adjourned

Aye: 5 - Olson, Watson, Blegay, Fisher and Oriadha

#### **Others Present:**

Sandra Eubanks, Committee Director
Rhonda Riddick, Committee Assistant
Leroy Maddox, Legislative Attorney
Eric Irving, Legislative Attorney
Reese Espy-Glassman, Legislative Officer
David Noto, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst
Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison, CEX
Dinorah Hernandez, Office of Law, Acting CEX
Dr. Matthew D. Levy, Health Officer, Health Department
Lakisha Hull, Planning Director, MNCPPC
Jacqueline Somerville, Associate Director, Health Department
Samantha Karon, Program Manager, Health Department
Denise Albright, MA, Program Manager, Health Department