

# **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee

Edward P. Burroughs, III, Chair Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair Wanika Fisher Sydney J. Harrison Jolene Ivey

Director ~ Sandra Eubanks Administrative Aide ~ Melody Arrington

Thursday, September 28, 2023	1:30 PM	<b>Committee Room 2027</b>
------------------------------	---------	----------------------------

### VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

# CALL TO ORDER

**Present:** 5 - Chair Edward Burroughs, Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha, Council Member Wanika Fisher, Council Member Sydney Harrison and Council Member Jolene Ivey

Other Council Members Present: Chair Thomas Dernoga Council Member Mel Franklin

#### **LEGISLATION**

<u>CB-076-2023</u> <u>AN ACT CONCERNING REVISION OF THE FAIR ELECTION FUND</u> for the purpose of revising language of the Fair Election Fund in order to provide greater clarity.

# **Sponsor(s)**: Dernoga

A motion was made by Council Member Ivey, seconded by Chair Burroughs, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote: Aye: 3 - Burroughs, Oriadha and Ivey

Abstain: 2 - Fisher and Harrison

#### <u>CB-078-2023</u> <u>AN ACT CONCERNING POLICE DEPARTMENT TOWING CONTRACTS</u>

for the purpose of providing certain legislative intent; providing certain definitions; providing for certain bid, contract, and subcontract requirements; providing for certain bid, contract, and subcontract reporting; and generally regarding Police Department towing contracts.

**Sponsor(s):** Oriadha, Blegay and Burroughs

A motion was made by Vice Chair Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Ivey, that this Council Bill be held. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Burroughs, Oriadha, Fisher, Harrison and Ivey

CB-082-2023

<u>AN ACT CONCERNING GROCERY STORE TAX CREDITS</u> for the purpose of increasing both real and personal tax credits for eligible grocery stores within the designated healthy food priority areas.

*Sponsor(s):* Watson, Ivey, Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Hawkins, Franklin, Olson, Fisher and Oriadha

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Ivey, that this Council Bill be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Burroughs, Fisher, Harrison and Ivey

Absent: 1 - Oriadha

CB-088-2023

# AN ACT CONCERNING CANNABIS REINVESTMENT AND RESTORATION

<u>**COMMISSION</u>** for the purpose of creating the Cannabis Reinvestment and Restoration Commission; providing for the purpose, membership, terms and compensation of members, appointment of a chair, meeting standards, and duties of Cannabis Reinvestment and Restoration Commission; establishing the Community Reinvestment and Repair Special Revenue Fund for the purpose of receiving funds from the State Community Reinvestment and Repair Fund; providing that the Fund shall be a special, non-lapsing fund; establishing the purpose of the Fund; and generally relating to the Cannabis Reinvestment and Reparations Commission. *Sponsor(s):* Oriadha</u>

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Fisher, that this Council Bill be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Burroughs, Oriadha, Fisher, Harrison and Ivey

A motion was made by Vice Chair Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Ivey, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Burroughs, Oriadha, Fisher, Harrison and Ivey

#### **ADJOURNED**

A motion was made by Chair Burroughs, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

**Also Present:** 

Sandra Eubanks, GOFP Committee Director Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer Melody Arrington, Administrative Aide Rhonda Riddick, Administrative Aide Nikia McBride, Administrative Aide Roger Banegas, Budget & Policy Analyst David Williams, Budget & Policy Analyst Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison Tracy Benjamin, Esq., OOL Terry Bell, Esq., OOL Chris Ahn, Consultant, CEX Jonathan Butler, Director, OCS