COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL

2012 Legislative Session

Resolution No.	CR-89-2012
Proposed by	The Chair – (By request – Planning Board)
Introduced by	Council Members Harrison, Davis. Franklin, Olson,
	Patterson, Toles and Turner
Date of Introduction	November 7, 2012

RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION concerning

The Wilson-Gleis House, the Burgess House, and the Underwood Bealle House. For the purpose of designating the Wilson-Gleis House (68-004-97), the Burgess House (68-010-83) and the Underwood-Beale House (84-032) as Prince George's County historic sites.

WHEREAS, Section 29-120.01 of the Prince George's County Code provides a process for the owner(s) of an historic property to petition for designation as an historic site with the Prince George's County Historic Preservation Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Wilson-Gleis House, located at 4711 Oliver Street, Riverdale Park, MD 20737, is significant as an example of the vernacular Queen Anne style single family dwellings developed in late Victorian suburb of Riverdale Park and other late Victorian streetcar suburbs (Criteria 1(a), 1(c), 1(d)); and

WHEREAS, the Burgess House, located at 5201 42nd Place, Hyattsville, MD 20781, is significant as a representative example of the type of early-twentieth-century bungalows in the Craftsman Style that were developed in Hyattsville and other nearby suburbs with the advent of the streetcar and automobile (Criteria 1(a), 1(d)); and

WHEREAS, the Underwood-Bealle House, located at 15914 Bealle Hill Road, Accokeek, MD 20607, is significant as a representative example of early twentieth-century rural domestic architecture in the then-popular Colonial Revival style and an established an visual feature of its neighborhood (Criteria 1(a), 1(d), 2(a), 2(e)); and

WHEREAS, these properties are all representative examples of their types, periods of construction and locations; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the provisions of Sec. 29-120.01, property owners

Jonathan Ebbeler, Christopher Mullen, and Cheryl R. Pennington, respectively, each filed a

petition with the Historic Preservation Commission for designation of their property as a historic
site; and

WHEREAS, after proper posting and notice was given as required by law, the Prince George's County Historic Preservation Commission held a public hearing on July 17, 2012; and

WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission recommended that the Wilson-Gleis House (68-004-97) and its Environmental Setting of 6,300 square feet (Tax Map 0042, Block 54, Lot 8); the Burgess House (68-010-32) and its Environmental Setting of 3,960 square feet (Tax Map 0050, Block F, Rear 44 Ft. Lots 30 and 31); and the Underwood-Beale House (84-032) and its Environmental Setting of 2.09 acres (Tax Map 0152, Parcel 97) qualify for historic site designation based on the historic site designation criteria described above; and

WHEREAS, the Prince George's County Council, sitting as the District Council, held a joint public hearing on the significance of the property with the Prince George's County Planning Board on October 2, 2012; and

WHEREAS, the record of the hearing was left open until 5:00 p.m. on October 16, 2012; and

WHEREAS, on November 1, 2012, the Prince George's County Planning Board voted unanimously to recommend that the Wilson-Gleis House, the Burgess House and the Underwood-Bealle House be designated as historic sites.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Prince George's County, Maryland, sitting as the District Council for that part of the Maryland-Washington Regional District in Prince George's County, Maryland, that the Wilson-Gleis House (68-004-97), 4711 Oliver Street, Riverdale Park MD 20737; the Burgess House (68-010-83), 5201 42nd Place, Hyattsville MD 20781; and the Underwood-Bealle House (84-032), 15914 Bealle Hill Road, Accokeek, MD20607, are hereby designated as Prince George's County historic sites.

1	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Clerk of the Council be directed to mail copies of this
2	Resolution to the Prince George's County Historic Preservation Commission, the Prince
3	George's Planning Board, the Mayor of the Town of Riverdale Park, the Mayor of the City of
4	Hyattsville, Mr. Jonathan Ebbeler, Mr. Christopher Mullen, and Ms. Cheryl R. Pennington.
	Adopted this 7 th day of November, 2012.
	COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND, SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL FOR THAT PART OF THE MARYLAND-WASHINGTON REGIONAI DISTRICT IN PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND
	BY: Andrea Harrison Chair
	ATTEST:
	Redis C. Floyd Clerk of the Council