

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Johnathan M. Medlock, District 6
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, October 4, 2022

10:00 AM

Virtual Meeting

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

10:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order 10:05 a.m. by Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II, with 8 members present at roll call. Council Member Dernoga arrived at 10:10 a.m., Council Members Burroughs and Franklin joined at 10:13 a.m.

Present:

11 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Mel Franklin

Council Member Dannielle Glaros

Vice Chair Sydney Harrison

Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Rodney Streeter

Council Member Deni Taveras

Council Member Todd Turner

Council Member Edward Burroughs

Council Member Johnathan Medlock

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham. Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney J. Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer Howard Stone, GOFP Committee Director Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer Nathaniel Tutt, III, HHSPS Committee Director Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer Josh Hamilin, Director of Budget and Policy Analysis Ellis Watson, Legislative Officer

INVOCATION:

The Invocation was provided by Council Member Medlock. Council Member Ivey requested prayer for the family of Dottie Tomaya, a longtime teacher and community member in Cheverly who passed. Council Member Tavaras requested prayer for Penny Galma Williams whose family lost Alma "White Sky" Gordon of the Chappaquiddick Wampanoag tribe who recently passed away, Ms. Taveras also requested prayer for the Jewish community of Prince George's County as they celebrate Yom Kippur. Council Member Turner acknowledged the homegoing service for former Senator, Council Member, Minister, and Executive, David C. Harrington and requested prayer for his family.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Ivey.

LEGISLATIVE DAY NO. 30

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Approval of County Council Minutes

MIN 09272022a

County Council Minutes dated September 27, 2022

Draft 1

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>09272022</u>

These Minutes were approved.

MIN 09272022b

Draft 1

County Council Minutes dated September 27, 2022 2:00 PM

Attachment(s): 09272022 2PM

These Minutes were approved.

Consent42-22

Draft 1

MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Streeter, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter,

Taveras, Turner and Medlock

Absent Franklin and Burroughs

2. CONSIDERATION OF ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

NO ITEMS CONSIDERED

3. PROPOSED CORRESPONDENCE/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER'S REPORT

NO ITEMS CONSIDERED

4. RESOLUTIONS ELIGIBLE FOR FINAL READING – (ADOPTION)

CR-068-2022

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING EQUITY POLICY FRAMEWORK WITHIN

<u>COUNTY GOVERNMENT</u> for the purpose of declaring the intent of Prince George's County to develop an equity policy framework to promote racial equity and social justice throughout County Government.

Sponsor(s): Taveras, Glaros, Ivey, Franklin and Medlock

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2022068

<u>CR-068-2022 AIS</u> <u>CR-068-2022 Report</u>

Council Member Burroughs, Chair, Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee (GOFP), provided a verbal report of the actions and recommendations of the GOFP Committee for CR-068-2022.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that a new draft be substituted for this Resolution. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras, Turner, Burroughs and Medlock

A motion was made by Council Member Medlock, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras, Turner, Burroughs and Medlock

5. BRIEFING

BR 10042022 Draft 1

MARYLAND ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES (MACO)

Michael Sanderson, Executive Director

Attachment(s): MACo September 2022- Road Trip Handout

The briefing convened at 10:27 a.m. Chair Hawkins introduced Laura Everngam Price, MACo President, Talbot County Council Member, and Michael Sanderson, Executive Director, MACo, who facilitated a discussion on the MACo 2022 Legislative Session Snapshot handout which highlighted the following: DLS Analyzes Police Oversight Regs; Here's How Districts Are Addressing COVID-19 this School Year; Feds Increasing Rural Marylanders' Access to Drug Treatment; White House Breaks Down Inflation Reduction Act's Impact on Marylanders' Health; Live From #MACoCon: and SAS Talks Tech Tools for Tomorrow's Counties. The panel guests responded to questions from Council Members on topics including the Purple Line and Blueprint for Maryland's Future. The briefing concluded at 11:06 a.m.

This Briefing was held.

ADJ102-22

Draft 1

ADJOURN

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 11:10 AM.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Burroughs, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras, Turner, Burroughs and Medlock

EXECUTIVE SESSION

EX 10042022

Draft 1

Motion to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(1), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation, or performance evaluation of an appointee,

employee, or official over whom it has jurisdiction, specifically to consider and discuss appointments to the Police Accountability Board.

The Chair read the following closing statement/motion to convene in executive session: "Motion to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(1), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation, or performance evaluation of an appointee, employee, or official over whom it has jurisdiction, specifically to consider and discuss appointments to the Police Accountability Board." The Executive Session was held (See County Council Minutes dated October 11, 2022 for details).

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Turner, that this Executive Session be convened. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 11 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras, Turner, Burroughs and Medlock

Prepared by:	
Leonard Moses, Legislative/	Zoning Assistant
Submitted by:	
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the	e Council