## PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL

## **COMMITTEE REPORT**

2023 Legislative Session

**Reference No.:** APPT-12-23

**Draft No.:** 1

**Committee:** Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee

**Date:** 6/22/2023

**Action:** FAV

## **REPORT:**

Committee Vote: Favorable, 5-0 (In Favor: Council Members Olson, Dernoga, Hawkins, Ivey, and Watson)

The Committee convened on June 22, 2023, to consider the appointment of Ms. Nancy J. Meyer and Mr. Mouhaman S. Kola to the Prince George's County Solid Waste Advisory Commission (SWAC). The appointment package was transmitted to the Council by County Executive Alsobrooks on May 19, 2023. The Public Hearing on the appointments is scheduled for July 11, 2023. The County Executive's Appointments Liaison, Miriam Brewer summarized the backgrounds of both appointees for the Committee:

Mr. Mouhaman S. Kola, a resident of Suitland, is an Environmental Protection Specialist with the Department of Energy and Environment. He advocates and volunteers his time to educate others on the benefits of recycling and responsible waste management practices and is a Licensed Environmental Health Specialist. A member of the National Association for Environmental Management, he holds both a Bachelor of Science degree and a Master of Science degree in Environmental Management both from the University of Maryland University College.

Ms. Nancy J. Meyer, a resident of Hyattsville, is a non-profit executive who recently started NJM Consulting after serving as Chief Executive Officer/Chief Operating Officer at Community Forklift for fifteen years. She has extensive infrastructure development and organizational planning skills used to support start-up and community-based entrepreneurial and environmental non-profits. Ms. Meyer is a member of the Sierra Club and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Studio Arts and Individual Studies from the University of Maryland. Ms. Meyer will serve as SWAC Chair.

Mr. Kola and Ms. Meyer provided brief remarks on their backgrounds and desire to serve on the SWAC. Both appointments expire on November 5, 2024.

After the discussion, the Committee voted favorably on the appointments by a vote of 5-0.