

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Zoning Minutes - Final Sitting as the District Council

Jolene Ivey, Chair, District 5
Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9
Wala Blegay, District 6
Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Krystal Oriadha, District 7
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4
Vacant - At-Large (effective: 06/15/2024)

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Monday, November 18, 2024

10:00 AM

Council Hearing Room

9:30 AM AGENDA BRIEFING - (ROOM 2027)

10:00 AM CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 27-131 and 27-132(a) of the Zoning Ordinance, the District Council meeting was convened by Council Chair Ivey at 10:05 a.m. with six members present at roll call. Council Member Olson arrived at 10:06 a.m. and Council member Burroughs arrived at 10:11 a.m. (Absent: Council Members Blegay and Dernoga) (Vacant - At-Large (effective: 06/15/2024).

Present:

8 - Chair Jolene Ivey

Vice Chair Sydney Harrison

Council Member Edward Burroughs

Council Member Wanika Fisher

Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Eric Olson

Council Member Krystal Oriadha

Council Member Ingrid Watson

Absent: Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Wala Blegay

Also Present:

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Karen T. Zavokas, Associate Council Administrator

Stan Brown, People's Zoning Counsel

Rajesh Kumar, Principal Counsel to the District Council

Lennie Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council

James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council

Akinjide Adeyemo, Zoning Reference Aide, Office of the Clerk

MOMENT OF SILENCE

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Hawkins.

APPROVAL OF DISTRICT COUNCIL MINUTES

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

Absent: Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs

MINDC 11122024 District Council Minutes Dated November 12, 2024

Attachment(s): 11-12-2024 District Council Minutes Draft

REFERRED FOR DOCUMENT

ZMA-2022-005 Hyde Landing

Applicant(s): Hyde Field Acquisition, LLC

Location: Located in the northwest and northeast quadrants of the intersection of

Piscataway Road (MD 223) and Steed Road (425.45 Acres; LCD Zone).

Request: Requesting approval of a Zoning Map Amendment (ZMA) for the rezoning of

approximately 425.45 acres of land in the LCD (Legacy Comprehensive Design) Zone to the R-PD (Residential Planned Development) Zone for the development of a maximum of 1,288 single-family attached and two-family

dwelling units.

Council District: 9

<u>Appeal by Date</u>: 11/12/2024 <u>Action by Date</u>: 3/10/2025

Opposition: Dominick Camp, et.al

History:

Council adopted prepared order of approval with conditions (Vote: 7-0; Absent: Council Members Blegay, Burroughs and Dernoga).

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Zoning Map Amendment be approved with conditions. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

Absent: Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs

Attachment(s): ZMA-2022-005 Zoning Agenda Item Summary

ZMA-2022-005- Notice of Final Decision of the

District Council

ZMA-2022-005 Notice of ZHE Decision

Corrected

ZMA-2022-005-ZHE Decision Corrected

ZMA-2022-005 POR List <u>ZMA-2022-005 Exhibit List</u> ZMA-2022-005- Exhibits #1-44

ZMA-2022-005 Technical Staff Report

PENDING FINALITY

In the event the District Council elects to make the final decision in this case, an oral argument will be scheduled pursuant to Sec. 27-131 of the Zoning Ordinance.

(a) PLANNING BOARD

<u>DDS-24001</u> <u>New Carrollton Multifamily IV</u>

Companion Case(s): DSP-22030

Applicant(s): New Carrollton Developer, LLC

Location: Located south of the intersection of MD 950 (Garden City Drive) and

Corporate Drive (15.79 Acres; RTO-H-C Zone (Prior; M-X-T/T-D-O

Zones).

Request: Requesting approval of a Departure from Design Standards (DDS) for

approval of a departure from Section 27-558(a) of the prior Prince George's County Zoning Ordinance, for a reduction in the size of standard parking spaces, from 9.5 feet by 18 feet to 8.5 feet by 18 feet for both structured and

surface parking spaces.

Council District: 5

Appeal by Date: 11/7/2024 **Review by Date:** 1/15/2025

History:

Council waived election to review for this item (Vote: 7-0; Absent: Council Members Blegay, Burroughs and Dernoga).

A motion was made by Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member Watson, that council waive election to review for this Departure from Design Standards. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

Absent: Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs

Attachment(s): DDS-24001 Zoning Agenda Item Summary

DDS-24001- PLB Memo

DDS-24001 Planning Board Resolution

Corrected

DDS-24001 PORL

DDS-24001 Technical Staff Report

PENDING FINALITY (continued)

<u>DSP-22030</u> <u>New Carrollton Multifamily IV</u>

Applicant(s): New Carrollton Developer, LLC

Location: Located south of the intersection of MD 950 (Garden City Drive) and

Corporate Drive (15.79 Acres; RTO-H-C Zone (Prior; M-X-T/T-D-O

Zones).

Request: Requesting approval of a Detailed Site Plan (DSP) to develop four

multifamily buildings, consisting of 364 units, and one 2-level parking

structure on Parcels 11–15.

Council District: 5

Appeal by Date: 11/7/2024 **Review by Date:** 1/15/2025

History:

Council waived election to review for this item (Vote:8-0; Absent: Council Members Blegay and Dernoga).

A motion was made by Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member Olson, that council waive election to review for this Detailed Site Plan (Prior Ordinance). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Ivey, Harrison, Burroughs, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and

Watson

Absent: Dernoga and Blegay

Attachment(s): DSP-22030 Zoning Agenda Item Summary

DSP-22030- PLB Memo

DSP-22030 Planning Board Resolution

DSP-22030 PORL

DSP-22030 Technical Staff Report

ADJOURN

ADJ102-24 ADJOURN

History:

This meeting Adjourned at 10:13 A.M.

A motion was made by Chair Ivey, seconded by Council Member Fisher, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Ivey, Harrison, Burroughs, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and

Watson

Absent: Dernoga and Blegay

Prepared by:
Akinjide Adeyemo, Zoning Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council