

### **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# **Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council**

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Johnathan M. Medlock, District 6
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, September 27, 2022

2:00 PM

**Virtual Meeting** 

#### \*\*VIRTUAL MEETING\*\*

#### VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### 2:00 PM - RECONVENE

The informational meeting was called to order by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II at 2:28 p.m.

**Present:** 

11 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Dannielle Glaros Vice Chair Sydney Harrison

Council Member Jolene Ivey Council Member Rodney Streeter Council Member Deni Taveras Council Member Todd Turner

Council Member Edward Burroughs Council Member Johnathan Medlock Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham. Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant James Walker-Bey, Legislative/Zoning Assistant Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney J. Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer Howard Stone, GOFP Committee Director Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer Nathaniel Tutt, III, HHSPS Committee Director Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer

BR 09272022a Draft 1

## POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD - COUNTY COUNCIL CANDIDATES - INFORMATIONAL MEETING/PUBLIC LISTENING SESSION

Pursuant to CB-21-2022, the County Council must appoint five members to serve on the eleven (11) member board.

**APPLICATIONS:** To be considered for this position, individuals must have completed an application form by 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 15, 2022.

**QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:** Individuals must meet the qualifications outlined in CB-21-2022, which may be accessed at the following links: pgccouncil.us/LZIS. Statements of Qualifications and Resumes of Persons selected as candidates for consideration are available at the following hyperlink.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: 2022 PAB Council Candidates

2022 PAB Council Candidates - Public Comments

Chair Hawkins provided an overview of the Police Accountability Board status and informational meeting. Dr. Andrea R. Coleman, Jamie Freeny, Delanta Harrison, Keenon James, Peter Miller, Linda Moghadam, Diana Montero, Earl O' Neal, Amity Pope, Chelsea Prax, Lisa Thomas

Price, Ernest Quarles, Carlo Sanchez, Tamika Springs, Felecia Taylor Joseph, Tolbert Sonia Y., and Wiggins-Pruitt presented their qualifications and interest in the Police Accountability Board appointment. Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator, provided a overview of process, outlined the next steps, and responded to questions. Two of the candidates did not appear on the informational meeting, Saleem Abdul Mateen and Herbert Lacy. The informational briefing concluded at 3:25 p.m.

This informational meeting was held.

THE INFORMATIONAL MEETING CONCLUDED AT 3:25 PM AND COUNCIL RESUMED IT'S 10AM POTION OF THE AGENDA.

Prepared by:	
Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assist	tant
Submitted by:	
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council	