

Todd M. Turner Chair District 4

## PRINCE GEORGE'S

Service. Community. Progress.

November 18, 2020

Ms. Michelle D. Lyons, Chair Telecommunications Transmission Facility Coordinating Committee Department of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement 9400 Peppercorn Place, 5th Floor Largo, MD 20774

Dear Ms. Lyons:

The County Council is in receipt of the 2020 Telecommunications Transmission Facility Coordinating Committee (TTFCC) Master Plan and Annual Report. The TTFCC Master Plan and Annual Report are required to be transmitted to the Council for its review and comment pursuant to Section 5A-155 of the County Code. After a review of the 2020 Master Plan and Annual Report, the County Council has no further comment about the telecommunications siting process but raises issues with regard to digital inclusion/broadband access, Small Wireless Technology implementation and notice to communities.

Considering, more than 18 million Americans -- about 5.6 percent of the United States population -- lack access to high-speed internet, according to the Federal Communications Commission, it is our hope that the TTFCC will make every effort to influence providers that can help to bring high speed internet to all parts of Prince George's County that currently lack service or are underserved.

Last year, the Council expressed concern that the County could be overwhelmed by new applications for Small Wireless facilities. While we are thankful that the new technology is being installed without incident, and how well the TTFCC is maintaining what is already a busy workload, we would ask that the community notification procedures be reviewed to ensure that timely notice is provided to all stakeholders.

The Council supports the proposed TTFCC Master Plan and Annual Report for 2020 with the implementation of the actions as proposed in this letter. Thank you, for the opportunity to comment about the TTFCC Master Plan and Annual Report for 2020 and the continuing dialogue.

Sincerely,

Hon. Todd M. Turner Council Chair cc: County Council Members County Executive Angela D. Alsobrooks Major Riddick, Chief Administrative Officer Tara H. Jackson, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer Melinda Bolling, Director, Department of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement James Crane, CTC, TTFCC Technical Consultant