

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Draft Sitting as the Board of Health

Tuesday, November 12, 2024

1:30 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

1:30 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was convened by Chair Jolene Ivey at 2:58 p.m. with eight members present at roll call. (Council Member Burroughs arrived at 3:15 p.m. (Vacant - At-Large (effective: 06/15/2024))

Present:

9 - Chair Jolene Ivey

Council Member Wala Blegay

Council Member Edward Burroughs

Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Wanika Fisher

Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Eric Olson

Council Member Krystal Oriadha

Council Member Ingrid Watson

Vice Chair Sydney Harrison

Also present:

Absent:

Karen T. Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council Edgar Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide Anya Makarova, Senior Advisor to the Board of Health

BRIEFING:

BR 11122024b

UPDATE ON THE OPIOID RESTITUTION FUNDS

Draft 1

Dr. Matthew Levy, MD, MPH, Health Officer, Health Department Samantha Karon, Program Manager, Behavioral Health Division, Health Department

Dr. Jacqueline Somerville, PhD, Associate Director, Behavioral Health Division, Health Department

Anya Makarova, Senior Advisor to the Board of Health

Attachment(s): ORF BoH Presentation BOH 11-12-2024

Update on the Opioid Restitution Funds Council Staff

Presentation BOH 11-12-2024

The briefing convened at 2:59 p.m. Chair Ivey introduced Anya Makarova, Senior Advisor to the Board of Health, who introduced Dr. Matthew Levy, MD, MPH, Health Officer. Dr. Levy introduced Dr. Jaqueline Somerville, PhD, Associate Director, Behavior Health Division, and Samantha Karon, Program Manager, Behavior Health Division. Ms. Karon then presented a Powerpoint presentation titled "Opioid Restitution Funds". The presentation highlighted the following: Background: The Opioid Crisis in the U.S.; Three Waves of Opioid Overdose Deaths; 12 Month-ending Provisional Number of Drug Overdose Deaths by Drug or Drug Class; Background: The National Opioid Settlements; Litigation Process; National Agreements Reached to Date; State and County Allocations; Requirements - National Agreements; Distribution Process; Our Approach and Progress to Date; Principles for the Use of Funds From the Opioid Litigation; Best Practices for Creating a Settlement Council; Prince George's County Opioid Abatement Task Force; Activity to Date; Recommendation-Making Process; Decision-Making Process and Current Status. Ms. Makarova then presented a Powerpoint presentation titled "Update of the Opioid Restitution Funds: Additional Information". The presentation highlighted the following: Settlement Overview; Maryland Finalized Settlements; Allocation of Janssen Settlement and Walmart/Walgreens/Allergan/Teva Settlements' Funds; Total Maryland Funding; State Opioid Restitution Funds Allocated and Expended to Date; How much funding did Prince George's County receive?; Additional Settlement Details; Use of Opioid Restitution Funds; Opioid Restitution Fund use of funds: State Finance and Procurement Article 7-331 and Opioid Restitution Fund Advisory Council. Ms. Makarova then responded to questions from Council Members.

This Briefing was held.

A motion was made by Council Member Oriadha, seconded by Chair Ivey, that the Department of Health submit a report to the Board of Health with recommendations on improving reproductive and maternal health care in Prince George's County. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 8 - Ivey, Burroughs, Dernoga, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson,

Oriadha and Watson

Absent Harrison and Blegay

ADJOURN

ADJ101-24 Draft 1 **ADJOURN**

THIS MEETING ADJOURNED AT 3:30 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye 8 - Ivey, Burroughs, Dernoga, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson,

Oriadha and Watson

Absent Harrison and Blegay

Prepared by:
Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council