

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee

Eric C. Olson, Chair Thomas E. Dernoga, Vice Chair Ingrid S. Watson Calvin S. Hawkins, II Jolene Ivey

Director - J. Kenneth Battle, Jr. Administrative Aide - Shirley Anglin (301) 952-3694

Thursday, September 14, 2023

10:00 AM

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

- Present: 4 Chair Eric Olson, Vice Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins and Council Member Ingrid Watson
- Absent: 1 Council Member Jolene Ivey

	Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment September 14, 20 Committee
<u>APPT-27-23</u>	Appointment of the following individual as the Director of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement for Prince George's County:
	Dawit Abraham
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> : DPIE Director Appointment Transmittal
	DPIE Director Appointment Package
	DPIE Director Appointment Report
	A motion was made by Vice Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council
	Member Hawkins, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended.
	The motion carried by the following vote:
	Aye: 4 - Olson, Dernoga, Hawkins and Watson
	Absent: 1 - Ivey
<u>CR-067-2023</u>	A RESOLUTION CONCERNING WALKABLE URBAN STREETS ACT OF
	2023 ROADS AND SIDEWALKS - DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION
	STANDARDS AND REQUIREMENTS for the purpose of incorporating 2023
	Urban Street Design Standards and Specifications as consistent with Plan Prince
	George's 2035 for Regional Transit Districts and Local Centers in Prince George's
	County, striving to balance the needs of all users that are business-friendly,
	walkable, bike-able and transit friendly; generally regarding design and construction
	standards and urban street designs.
	<u>Attachment(s)</u> : <u>R2023067</u>
	<u>CR-067-2023 Exhibit A</u>
	<u>CR-067-2023 Summary</u>
	CR-67-2023 OOL Comment
	CR-67-2023 Planning Board Revised Summary
	of Existing Standards Urban Street Standards
	Planning Board Votes Letter and Analyses
	PAFI CB-069_CR-067_CR-068-2023 Urban_
	Street Design Policy and Standards - Final

<u>CR-068-2023</u>

<u>A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SPECIFICATIONS AND STANDARDS -</u> 2023 URBAN STREET DESIGN STANDARDS for the purpose of amending the

"General Specifications and Standards for Highway and Street Construction" and the "Specifications and Standards for Highway Traffic Signals" of the Department of Public Works and Transportation; and generally regarding urban street design.

Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment September 14, 2023

Committee		
<u>Attachment(s)</u> :	<u>R2023068</u>	
	CR-068-2023 Inclusion File I	
	<u>CR-068-2023 Exhibit A</u>	
	<u>CR-068-2023 Exhibit B</u>	
	CR-068-2023 Inclusion File II	
	CR-068-2023 Inclusion File Section III	
	<u>CR-068-2023 Summary</u>	
	CR-68-2023 OOL Comment	
	PAFI CB-069_CR-067_CR-068-2023 Urban_	
	Street Design Policy and Standards - Final	
This Resolution was Held in Committee		

This Resolution was Held in Committee

CB-069-2023

AN ACT CONCERNING URBAN STREET DESIGN POLICY AND

STANDARDS for the purpose of adopting an urban street design policy and standards pursuant to the 2023 Urban Streets Design Standards, incorporated in the Department of Public Works and Transportation's "Specifications and Standards for Roadways and Bridges" (2007), as revised in 2023, consistent with the Council's 2014 approval of its most current general plan for the County, Plan Prince George's 2035; and generally regarding urban street design standards.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: B2023069

<u>CB-069-2023 Summary</u> <u>CB-69-2023 OOL Comment</u> <u>PAFI CB-069_CR-067_CR-068-2023 Urban</u> <u>Street Design Policy and Standards - Final</u>

This Council Bill was Held in Committee

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Vice Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Others Present: Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer **Terry Bell, Office of Law** Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison Alex Hirtle, Budge and Policy Analysis **Office of Communications** Michael Royer, Multimedia Specialist Langley Wiggins, Multimedia Specialist **Aminah Bushrod, Communication Specialist** Lawanda Harris, Communication Specialist Ashley Woodard, Communication Specialist Leonard Moses, Legislative Assistant James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant Miriam Brewer, Appointment Liaison, CEX Dawit Abraham, Appointee Michael Johnson, Director, DPW&T Kate Mazzara, Associate Director, DPW&T Erv Beckert, Chief, DPW&T, Highway and Bridge Design Division Scott Rowe, Planner IV, MNCPPC, Community Planning Division **Cheryl Cort Janet Gingold Bernard Halloway Seth Grimes**