

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair, District 1
Wala Blegay, Vice Chair, District 6
Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Krystal Oriadha, District 7
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, September 12, 2023

6:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

6:00 PM - RECONVENE

The meeting was convened at 6:07 p.m. by Chair Thomas Dernoga, with nine council members present at roll call.

Present:

9 - Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Sydney Harrison

Vice Chair Wala Blegay

Chair Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Ingrid Watson
Council Member Eric Olson
Council Member Wanika Fisher
Council Member Edward Burroughs
Council Member Krystel Oriodha

Council Member Krystal Oriadha Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Mel Franklin

Absent:

Also present:

Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel

JT 09122023 Draft 1 THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL, SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL, AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PLANNING BOARD OF THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PROPOSED MINOR AMENDMENT TO THE 2009 COUNTYWIDE MASTER PLAN OF TRANSPORTATION (CR-072-2023)

Pursuant to the Regional District Act within the Land Use Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, as well as Subtitle 27 of the Prince George's County Code, being also the Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, Maryland, notice is hereby given that a public hearing will be held to seek public comment and testimony.

Attachment(s):

Proposed Minor Plan Amendment to the 2009

Approved Countywide MPOT

PGCPB Transmittal Packet 08-29-2023

Joint Public Hearing presentation 09122023

CR-072-2023 - signed

This joint public hearing convened at 6:07 p.m. with nine Council Members present. Peter Shapiro, Chair, Manuel Geraldo, Member, and William M. Doerner, Member, Prince George's County Planning Board, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, were present. Evan Tenenbaum, Project Manager, M-NCPPC, introduced Scott Rowe, Planner IV, Community Planning Division, and provided a brief overview. Mr. Tenebaum facilitated a PowerPoint presentation titled "2009 Approved Countywide Master Plan Of Transportation Minor Plan Amendment Joint Public Hearing Tuesday, September 12, 2023". The presentation highlighted the following: Agenda; What is F-10; and Minor Plan Amendment. Robert Antonetti and Daniel Hoose signed up to speak for this item. Karen Zavakos,

Legislative and Zoning Counsel, Prince George's County Council, provided comments. All persons wishing to speak having done so this public hearing was declared held. Council Chair Dernoga announced the close of the record as close of business on September 27, 2023. The meeting concluded at 6:29 p.m.

This Joint Public hearing was held.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Written comments may be submitted through the close of business on Wednesday, September 27, 2023, when the record of public hearing testimony will close. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged.

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Call to Order
- (b) Introduction of the County Council Members
- (c) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Thomas E. Dernoga
- (d) M-NCPPC staff presentation

Evan Tenenbaum, Project Manager

- (e) Comments by elected and appointed officials:
- (f) Comments by citizens:

ADJ76-23

ADJOURN

Draft 1

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 6:29 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by voice vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Watson, Olson,

Fisher, Burroughs and Oriadha

Absent Ivey and Franklin

Prepared by:

Edgar Reese III, Legislative Reference Aide

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council