

## PRINCE GEORGE'SIESUNTY

"Building the People's Movement"

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

May 12, 2021

Mr. Christopher P. Logan Acting Assistant Administrator Grant Programs Directorate Federal Emergency Management Agency U.S. Department of Homeland Security Washington, DC 20472

RE: Transit Security Grant Program (TSGP) Prince George's Proud -

Dear Acting Assistant Administrator Logan:

On behalf of the Prince George's County Council, I am writing to express my full support for the Prince George's County Department of Public Works and Transportation (DPW&T) application under the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Transit Security Grant Program. DPW&T is seeking three and a half million dollars (\$3.5 M) in Federal Assistance to enhance security infrastructure at the County's sole bus garage in Forestville, Maryland. The County Council supports our DPW&T's effort to ensure that the County's transit system facility meets and exceeds the Department of Homeland Security standards.

This grant will allow for the Department to implement and accomplish a major upgrade at the facility. In this critical application, DPW&T pursues an overhaul of the access control and identification system, security cameras, and lighting to quickly identify external threats, protect Federal and State funded assets and provide employees and contract staff with a safer working environment.

Prince George's County is a thriving, diverse, majority African-American county. It is also home to many people who are essential workers, many whom live in auto-less households and depend upon a safe and reliable public transit system. Due to our proximity to Washington, DC, our bus facility may be more of a target for foreign or domestic terrorist incidents. Therefore, this grant funding opportunity is a high priority for the County Council.

Your full consideration of the Prince George's County's grant application is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time and attention to this matter.

Sincerely.

Calvin S. Hawkins, II,

Chair