

### **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee

Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair Sydney J. Harrison Calvin S. Hawkins, II Eric C. Olson

Staff Support:

Rana Hightower, Committee Director, x23718

Eric Irving – Legislative Attorney, x25261(Planning/Zoning)

Kathy Canning – Legislative Attorney, x23186 (Housing)

Charlotte Aheart – Committee Assistant, x24199

Thursday, April 3, 2025

10:00 AM

**Committee Room 2027** 

#### VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

#### CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Thomas Dernoga at 10:11 a.m. with 4 members present at roll call.

**Present:** 4 - Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council Member Calvin S.

Hawkins, Council Member Eric Olson and Vice Chair

Krystal Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Council Member Sydney Harrison

Other Council Member Present: Edward Burroughs

#### **LEGISLATION**

CR-022-2025

## A RESOLUTION CONCERNING RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE FORECLOSURE MORATORIUM FOR MARYLAND'S FEDERAL

**EMPLOYEES** for the purpose of urging the Governor to impose a Residential Mortgage Foreclosure Moratorium for Maryland's Federal Employees; and generally regarding a residential mortgage foreclosure moratorium.

*Attachment(s)*: R2025022

CR-022-2025 Summary

<u>Maryland-faces-greatest-risk-among-states-from-federal-job-cuts-and-policy-changes-Moodys-</u>

March-2025

CEX CR-22-2025 Administration's Friendly

Amendments

CR-22-2025 OOL Comment (002)

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha, that this Resolution be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Harrison

A motion was made by Council Member Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Harrison

#### CR-025-2025

### A RESOLUTION CONCERNING DESIGNATION-MARYLAND TRANSIT-ORIENTED DEVELOPMENT SITE- SEABROOK MARC

<u>STATION</u> for the purpose of expressing support for the designation of the Seabrook MARC Station and its surrounding area as a Maryland Transit-Oriented Development (TOD) site.

*Attachment(s)*: R2025025

CR-025-2025 Summary

PDO Comments on CR-25-2025

CR-25-2025 OOL Comment (002)

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Aye:** 3 - Dernoga, Hawkins and Olson

**Absent:** 2 - Harrison and Oriadha

#### **BUDGET WORKSESSION**

BU 2025-20

THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING

### COMMISSION (M-NCPPC) FY 2026 BUDGET- Department of Parks and Recreation

Attachment(s): FY26 Parks and Recreation Report FINAL (part

1) - signed

FY2026 M-NCPPC Budget Review - Questions

and Responses Consolidated

MNCPPC Parks and Rec FY26 Budget

Presentation 32625 330 PM (1)

MNCPPC DPR Supplemental Highlights

3.31.25

Department of Parks and Recreation Budget

Work Video Link

CB-055-2022 Appendix A

CB-62-2023 Appendix A

CR-066-2024 - signed

CR-066-2024 Attachment A (1)

CR-086-2023 - signed

CR-095-2023 - signed

R2021047

R2021075

CB-023-2020 Appendix A

CB-034-2021 Appendix A

CB-044-2024 Appendix A

Project Charge Historical Tracking 4.1.25

#### **Budget discussion held.**

#### **BRIEFING**

**BR 04032025** Prince George's County Department of Housing and Community Development Overview of Fiscal Year 2025 Work Program and Project Updates (Completed,

**Current and Future)** 

Aspasia Xypolia

Director

Ashley Johnson-Hare

Deputy Director

Pamela Wilson,

Chief Housing Development Manager

Adedamola George

Chief Compliance & Program Manager

Shirley E. Grant

Chief Community Planning & Development Manager

Edren Lewis

Chief Budget, Accounting & Loan Servicing Manager

LeShann Murphy,

CDBG Program Manager

Attachment(s): DHCD PPT PHED 04 03 2025

Briefing held.

#### **ADJOURN**

Adjourned

A motion was made by Vice Chair Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Harrison

Also present:

Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator

Rana Hightower, Director

Kathy Canning, Legislative Attorney

Eric Irving, Legislative Attorney

**Charlotte Aheart, Administrative Assistant** 

Turkessa Green, County Auditor

Josh Hamlin, Director, Budget and Policy Analysis

Shalene Miller-Whye, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst

Sakinda Skinner, CEX

Dinora Hernandez, OOL

Lakisha Hull, M-NCPPC

Peter A. Shapiro, M-NCPPC

Bill Tyler, M-NCPPC

Brenda McCane, M-NCPPC

Sean Harbaugh, M-NCPPC

**David Alexander, M-NCPPC** 

Wanda Ramos, M-NCPPC

Claire Worshtil, M-NCPPC

Sonja Ewing, M-NCPPC

Anthony Nolan, M-NCPPC

Adrienne Harris-Moore, M-NCPPC

Bill Sheehan, M-NCPPC

Aspasia Xypolia, DHCD

Ashley Johnson-Hare, DHCD

Pamela Wilson, DHCD

Adedamola "Funmi" George, DHCD

Shirley E. Grant, DHCD

**Edren Lewis, DHCD** 

LeShann Murphy, DHCD