

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Jolene Ivey, Chair, District 5
Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9
Wala Blegay, District 6
Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Krystal Oriadha, District 7
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, May 7, 2024

6:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

6:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

This meeting was convened at 6:12 p.m. by Chair Jolene Ivey, with seven members present at roll call. Council Member Franklin arrived at 7:10 p.m. Council Members Franklin and Dernoga participated remotely and on camera. Council Member Fisher was unable to attend due to a family matter.

Present: 6 - Chair Jolene Ivey

Vice Chair Sydney Harrison

Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Eric Olson

Council Member Krystal Oriadha Council Member Ingrid Watson

Excused: 1 - Council Member Wanika Fisher

Absent: Council Member Wala Blegay

Council Member Edward Burroughs

Remote: 2 - Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Mel Franklin

Also present:

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator
Karen T. Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council
Tina Butler, LZIS Website Coordinator
Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney

PUBLIC HEARINGS: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 05072024
Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2025 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2025 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s): Office of Management & Budget Site

County Council Budget Portal

Public Comments - JPH Budget 5-07-2024

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 6:12 p.m. Charles Colbert, Janet Gingold, Lea Shuler, Rasheed Abdurrahman, Joe Parks, Joe Murchison, Aimee Olivo, Suyanna Linhales Barker, Officer Carlos Plazas, Marcal Graham, Dr. Jerry Lewis, Joel Solorzano, Ms. Emi Ayala, Yolanda Johnson, Corzann Sailor, Denise Albright, Angela Ayala, Robert Ponichtera, Javier Aguilar, Kareem Niles, Jasper Famous, Omar Knio, Felixberto Lazaro, Michele Clarke, Charles Colbert, Mr. Jonathan Delacruz, Ryan Washington, Nelly Ortiz, Ms. Lorraine Holmes-Settles, Mr. Rigobertho Delacruz, Mr. Tyrell Smith, Mr. Messiah Smith, Andy Sigmon, Mr. James Deldado, Rick Mulliken, Mr. Cipriano King, Jr., Grant Walker, Amy Pergosky, Anetta Jefferson Rogers, and Joseph Jaketa signed up to speak. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Leroy D. Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney, provided an overview of additional CIP projects to be considered. The public hearing concluded at 8:03 p.m.

This Public Hearing was held.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Jolene Ivey, Chair Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building Largo, Maryland 20774

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Jolene Ivey
- (b) Introduction of Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials
- (d) Comments by Citizens:

ADJOURN

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 8:03 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by unanimous vote.

Aye 8 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Franklin, Hawkins, Olson,

Oriadha and Watson

Absent Blegay, Burroughs and Fisher

Prepared by:
Edgar Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council