

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

May 17, 2024

The Honorable Jolene Ivey
Chair
Prince George's County Council
1301 McCormick Drive, 2nd Floor
Largo, Maryland 20774

Dear Chair Ivey:

It is my pleasure to submit to you and the County Council the reappointments of Mr. Steven E. Darcey, Mr. Daniel A. Donohue, Mr. William "Bill" O. Ritchie, Jr., and Ms. Pharyn E. Smith the Agricultural Resources Advisory Committee. This Committee serves as the central point of information for the farming community regarding governmental programs affecting agricultural operations. The nominated individuals provide excellent representation of the various agricultural agencies, neighborhoods or citizens interested in the preservation and protection of farming within Prince George's County. All the candidates' backgrounds and qualifications are presented below.

Mr. Steven E. Darcey, a resident of Upper Marlboro is a fourth generation Prince George's County farmer. He is also the Executive Director of the Prince George's Soil Conservation District where he has served since 2014. Mr. Darcey manages 375 acres of family-owned farms in Prince George's, Anne Arundel, Charles, and St. Mary's Counties. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Maryland. He will serve as the Soil Conservation District member.

Mr. Daniel A. Donohue grew up in Accokeek and still lives on the same property. He is a retired Colonel from the U.S. Marine Corps Reserve, serving from 1973 to 2009. His property is part of the Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Program. The program preserves farmland and supports soil and water conservation. Additionally, he has experience in timber and rural land ownership. He will serve as the forestry member on the Committee.

Mr. William "Bill" O. Ritchie, Jr., a resident of Clinton, is an experienced public safety and security officer. He retired from the Metropolitan Police Department rising to Deputy Chief of Police, Commander of the Criminal Investigations Division. Active in the community, he is a member of the National Society Descendants of American Farmers having identified and proven thirty-three (33) ancestral farmers. He received his Bachelor of Science in Physical Education from Howard University, an Associate Science Degree in Mortuary Science from the University of the District of Columbia.

The Honorable Jolene Ivey Page 2 May 17, 2024

Ms. Pharyn E. Smith, a resident of Clinton, is a seasoned Senior Special Agent with the federal government. She is known as a subject matter expert of the federal criminal justice system and federal financial management and is a resourceful community service worker. Ms. Smith received her undergraduate degree from LaSalle University and received a Master of Science degree from the University of Maryland University College and has a second Master of Science degree from the United States Air Force Air University. She will serve as a citizen member.

Pursuant to Section 2-428 of the Prince George's County Code, I am reappointing Mr. Steven E. Darcey, Mr. Daniel A. Donohue, Mr. William O. Ritchie, Jr., and Ms. Pharyn E. Smith, to the Agricultural Resources Advisory Committee.

Mr. Steven E. Darcey

Mr. Daniel A. Donohue

William "Bill" O. Ritchie, Jr.

Ms. Pharyn E. Smith

Reappointment

Soil Conservation District member

Term Expiration: 6/30/2027

Reappointment Forestry member

Term Expiration: 6/30/2027

Reappointment Citizen member

Term Expiration: 6/30/2027

Reappointment Citizen member

Term Expiration: 6/30/2027

Attached for the County Council's consideration are Appointee Data Forms for the nominees. Their Financial Disclosure Statements have been transmitted to the Clerk of the Council. Your favorable consideration of these appointments is appreciated. If you need additional information, please contact Ms. Miriam L. Brewer, Appointments Liaison, at (301) 952-4136.

Angela D. Alsobrooks County Executive

Angela alsobrooks

Attachments

Members of the County Council Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Rhonda L. Weaver, County Attorney