

## **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Jolene Ivey, Chair, District 5
Edward P. Burroughs, III, Vice Chair, District 8
Wala Blegay, District 6
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Krystal Oriadha, District 7
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4
Vacant - At-Large (effective: 06/15/2024)

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, December 3, 2024

11:00 AM

**Council Hearing Room** 

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

### 11:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was convened at 11:19 a.m. by Chair Jolene Ivey, with ten council members present at roll call.

**Present:** 

10 - Chair Jolene Ivey

Council Member Sydney Harrison Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Wala Blegay Vice Chair Edward Burroughs Council Member Wanika Fisher Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Eric Olson Council Member Krystal Oriadha Council Member Ingrid Watson

Also present:

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator
Colette R. Gresham, Deputy Council Administrator
Karen T. Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator
Donna Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council
Edgar Reese, Legislative Reference Aide
Leroy Maddox, Legislative Attorney

### **INVOCATION:**

The Invocation was provided by Ayesha Staples, Minister and First Lady of the Church of Adullam, Temple Hills, Maryland. Council Chair Ivey recognized the birthday of Council Member Oriadha. Council Member Fisher requested prayer for Council Member Oriadha's birthday as well as for her own mother who recently celebrated her birthday.

### **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Oriadha.

### REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

There were no requests to address the Council.

### **BUSINESS MEETING**

#### 1. REMARKS BY THE 2024 COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Council Chair Ivey and outgoing Vice Chair Harrison provided remarks as they reflected on the County Council's achievements in the 2024 legislative year and exchanged gifts commemorating their time as Chair and Vice Chair.

# 2. ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2025 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

**CHAIR-2025** 

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 3, 2024 TO DECEMBER 2, 2025.

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Oriadha, that Council Member Olson be elected as Chair. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Olson and Oriadha

Nay 1 - Hawkins

**Abstain** 4 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher and Watson

A motion was made by Council Member Fisher, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that Chair Ivey be re-elected as Chair. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins and Watson

Nay 3 - Blegay, Burroughs and Oriadha

**Abstain** 2 - Dernoga and Olson

A motion was made by Council Member Burroughs, seconded by Council Member Oriadha, that Council Member Blegay be elected as Chair. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye 5 - Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Olson and Oriadha

**Abstain** 5 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins and Watson

VICECHAIR-2025

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL VICE CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 3, 2024 TO DECEMBER 2, 2025.

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Dernoga, that Council Member Oriadha to be elected as Vice Chair. The motion failed by the following vote:

**Aye** 5 - Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Olson and Oriadha

**Abstain** 5 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins and Watson

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Oriadha, that Council Member Burroughs be elected as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye	6 -	Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha
Abstain	4 -	Ivey, Harrison, Fisher and Watson

### 3. EXCHANGE OF GAVEL

### **4. REMARKS BY INCOMING 2025 COUNCIL CHAIR**

Council Chair Ivey provided comments and thanked her colleagues. Chair Ivey relayed that she looks forward to working with her colleagues and others to solve the upcoming challenges that face the county and considers it a privilege to continue serving as Chair. Colette Gresham, Deputy Council Administrator responded to questions from Council Members and relayed that since no Chair was elected, the current Chair of the Council continues to serve, unless or until a Chair is elected by the Council.

### <u>REC2-25</u>

Draft 1

### **RECESS**

The meeting was recessed at 11:52 a.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Burroughs, that this meeting be recessed. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye

10 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

### **RECONVENE**

The meeting was reconvened at 12:01 p.m.

### **5. CONSENT AGENDA**

(a) Approval of County Council Minutes

MIN 11142024

County Council Minutes dated November 14, 2024

Draft 1

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>11142024</u>

These Minutes were approved.

MIN 11192024

County Council Minutes dated November 19, 2024

Draft 1

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>11192024</u>

These Minutes were approved.

Consent1-25

MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

Draft 1

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

10 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

EX 12032024 Draft 1 Motion to convene in executive session to consult with counsel to seek legal advice and to discuss pending or potential litigation in accordance with section 3-305(b)(7, 8), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland-more specifically, to be briefed by counsel as to, and to discuss, the status of cases in the Circuit Court for Prince George's County, Maryland, the Appellate Court of Maryland, and the Supreme Court of Maryland, to maintain confidentiality regarding the current status of ongoing litigation and as to the Council's position on pending litigation.

The Chair read the following closing statement/motion to convene in executive session: "Motion to convene in executive session to consult with counsel to seek legal advice and to discuss pending or potential litigation in accordance with section 3-305(b)(7, 8), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland-more specifically, to be briefed by counsel as to, and to discuss, the status of cases in the Circuit Court for Prince George's County, Maryland, the Appellate Court of Maryland, and the Supreme Court of Maryland, to maintain confidentiality regarding the current status of ongoing litigation and as to the Council's position on pending litigation." The Executive Session was held.

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Executive Session be convened. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

10 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

ADJ1-25 Draft 1 **ADJOURN** 

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 12:05 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye

10 - Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Blegay, Burroughs, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

### EXECUTIVE SESSION – (1ST FLOOR EXECUTIVE CONFERENCE ROOM)

Prepared by:
Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council