

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee

Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair Sydney J. Harrison Calvin S. Hawkins, II Eric C. Olson

Staff Support:

Rana Hightower, Committee Director, x23718

Eric Irving – Legislative Attorney, x25261(Planning/Zoning)

Kathy Canning – Legislative Attorney, x23186 (Housing)

Charlotte Aheart – Committee Assistant, x24199

Thursday, April 17, 2025

10:00 AM

Committee Room 2027

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Thomas Dernoga at 10:11 a.m. with 4 members present at roll call. Council Member Olson arrived at 11:50 a.m. with a pre-excused absence.

Present: 5 - Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council Member Sydney
Harrison, Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, Council
Member Eric Olson and Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha

Other Council Member Present: Edward Burroughs

LEGISLATION

CB-027-2025

AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING USE REGULATIONS - PRESERVING ACCESS TO OPIOID TREATMENT SERVICES for the purpose of defining opioid treatment centers as a new principal use type; establish the zones in which this new use type is permitted, as shown on the principal use tables; setting forth conditions under which this new principal use may be approved; and establishing off-street parking requirements for this new use type.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2025027</u>

CB-027-2025 Summary

LDR-53-2025 Planning Board Recommendation

LDR-53-2025 M-NCPPC Technical Staff

Report

LDR-53-2025 M-NCPPC email Transmittal LDR-02-2025 PGCPB Transmittal Pink Sheet

<u>CB-027-2025 ZHE Memo</u> <u>CB-027-2025 Proposed DR2</u>

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this Council Bill be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Dernoga, Harrison and Hawkins

Excused: 1 - Olson

Absent: 1 - Oriadha

CR-043-2025

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING ZONING ORDINANCE - USE REGULATIONS - PRESERVING ACCESS TO OPIOID TREATMENT

SERVICES for the purpose of approving, with the force and effect of law, a new principal use type - opioid treatment centers; setting conditions for approving development applications for opioid treatment centers; identifying the zones in which such centers are permitted by right; setting forth off-street parking requirements for such treatment centers.

Attachment(s): R2025043

<u>CR-043-2025 Summary</u> <u>CR-043-2025 ZHE Memo</u> CR-043-2025 Proposed DR-2

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Resolution be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Dernoga, Harrison and Hawkins

Excused: 1 - Olson

Absent: 1 - Oriadha

BUDGET WORKSESSION

BU 2025-40 DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Attachment(s): FY 2026 DHCD Report Final

FY 2026 Proposed Budget
Overview DHCD FINAL

DHCD Budget Presentation FY 26

Budget discussion held

BU 2025-41 HOUSING AUTHORITY

Attachment(s): FY 2026 HAPGC Report Final

FY 2026 Proposed Budget Overview HAPGC FINAL

HAPGC-PHED Meeting - Budget Presentation-

4-14-25

Budget discussion held

BU 2025-42 EXPERIENCE PRINCE GEORGE'S

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: FY 2026 Experience Prince Georges

Report FINAL

FY 2026 Proposed Budget

Overview Experience Prince George's FINAL

EXPG PHED Committee April 2025

Presentation

Budget discussion held

ADJOURN

Adjourned

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Harrison, Hawkins and Olson

Absent: 1 - Oriadha

Also present:

Rana Hightower, Director

Eric Irving, Legislative Attorney

Charlotte Aheart, Administrative Assistant

Maurene McNeil, ZHE

Shalene Miller-Whye, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst

David Noto, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst

Anya Makarova, Senior Advisor to the Board of Health

Sakinda Skinner, CEX

Dinora Hernandez, OOL

Stanley Earley, OMB

Kanika Bynum, OMB

Mary Proctor-Swann, OMB

Lakisha Hull, M-NCPPC

David Warner, M-NCPPC

Aspasia Xypolia, DHCD

Edren Lewis, DHCD

Pamela Wilson, DHCD

Whitney Whitfield, DHCD

Jessica Anderson-Preston, HA

Jacqueline Massiah, HA

Louis Braswell, HA

Leslie Graves, Ex.PG

Maria Elena Montero, Ex.PG

Brian Chisolm, Conference Direct