

Prince George's County Council

County Administration
Building
14741 Governor Oden
Bowie Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
20772-3050

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Committee of the Whole

Chairman Derrick Leon Davis
Council Member Mel Franklin
Vice Chairwoman Dannielle M. Glaros
Council Member Andrea C. Harrison
Council Member Mary A. Lehman
Council Member Obie Patterson
Council Member Deni L. Taveras
Council Member Karen R. Toles
Council Member Todd Turner

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

3:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The Committee of the Whole meeting was convened at by Vice-Chairwoman Glaros at 4:15 p.m. with five members present. Council Member Davis arrived at 4:19 p.m. Council Member Patterson arrived at 4:21 p.m. Council Member Turner arrived at 4:30 p.m. Council Member Harrison was absent due to County business.

Present 8 - Derrick Davis

Dannielle Glaros

Mel Franklin

Mary Lehman

Obie Patterson

Deni Taveras

Karen Toles

Todd Turner

Absent 1 - Andrea Harrison

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Kenneth Battle, Intergovernmental Liaison, County Executive's Office

Lakeecia Allen, Office of Law

Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer

Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer

Jacqueline Brown, Director, PZED Committee

Howard Stone, Director, PSFM Committee

APPT-18

Appointment of the following individuals to the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning (M-NCPPC) for Prince George's County:

William M. Doerner, Ph.D.

Appointment

Replacing: John P. Shoaff Term Expiration: 6/15/2018

A. Shaunise Washington

Reappointment

Term Expiration: 6/15/2020

Jacqueline Brown, Director, PZED Committee, provided an overview of the appointment. Mr. Doerner spoke to his credentials and qualifications and responded to questions posed by the Council.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Glaros, seconded by Council Member Lehman, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Lehman, Patterson and Taveras

Absent: 3 - Harrison, Toles and Turner

CB-096-2016

AN ACT CONCERNING LABOR- MINIMUM WAGE WAIVER for the purpose of amending the Code to specify waiver provisions to the Prince George's County, Maryland's minimum wage rate for Developmental Disability Administration ("DDA") providers.

Sponsor(s): Davis, Harrison, Turner, Glaros, Franklin, Taveras, Patterson and Toles

Howard Stone, Director, PSFM Committee, provided an overview of the measure. Lakecia Allen, Office of Law, spoke to the County Executive's support for this measure. Thomas Himler, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Budget, Finance, Economic Development and Administration spoke to the impetus for this proposal and the potential fiscal impacts. Chairman Davis indicated that written testimony had been received from Bea Rodgers, the Prince George's Provider Council and the Maryland Association of Community Services. He allowed verbal testimony from the following individuals: Andrea Kolp, Bea Rodgers, Lauren Kallins, Jim Stockton, Keisha Walker-Fells, Mike Ahearn, Rashid Patterson and Deborah Fare. There was a very robust discussion regarding the County's minimum wage rate versus that of the State and the various approaches to address the issues caused by the disparity.

A motion was made by Council Member Patterson, seconded by Council Member Lehman, that this Council Bill be tabled. The motion failed by the following vote:

Aye: 2 - Lehman and Patterson

Nay: 5 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Taveras and Turner

Absent: 2 - Harrison and Toles

Under discussion on the motion, there was further conversation about potential State funding to bridge the gap.

A motion was made by Chairman Davis, seconded by Vice Chair Glaros, that this Council Bill be Reported out with no recommendation to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Lehman, Taveras and Turner

Nay: 1 - Patterson

Absent: 2 - Harrison and Toles

CR-084-2016

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING MINIMUM WAGE WAIVER FOR DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES ADMINISTRATION PROVIDERS

IN PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND for the purpose of providing a minimum wage waiver for Developmental Disabilities Administration ("DDA") providers in Prince George's County, Maryland ("County") and generally relating to the County's minimum wage.

Companion Case(s): CB-096-2016

Sponsor(s): Davis, Toles, Harrison, Turner, Glaros, Franklin, Taveras and

Patterson

A motion was made by Chairman Davis, seconded by Vice Chair Glaros, that this Resolution be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Patterson and Taveras

Nay: 1 - Lehman

Absent: 3 - Harrison, Toles and Turner

A motion was made that this Resolution be Reported out with no recommendation with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Davis, Glaros, Franklin, Lehman, Taveras and Turner

Nav: 1 - Patterson

Absent: 2 - Harrison and Toles

ADJOURN

The committee work-session concluded at 5:43 p.m.