

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee

Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair Sydney J. Harrison Calvin S. Hawkins, II Eric C. Olson

Staff Support:

Rana Hightower, Committee Director, x23718

Eric Irving – Legislative Attorney, x25261(Planning/Zoning)

Kathy Canning – Legislative Attorney, x23186 (Housing)

Charlotte Aheart – Committee Assistant, x24199

Thursday, May 15, 2025

10:00 AM

Committee Room 2027

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Thomas Dernoga at 10:17 a.m. with 3 members present at roll call. Council Member Calvin Hawkins arrived at 10:25 a.m

Present: 4 - Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council Member Calvin S.

Hawkins, Council Member Eric Olson and Vice Chair

Krystal Oriadha

Excused: 1 - Council Member Sydney Harrison

Other Council Member Present: Jolene Ivey

LEGISLATION

Note: CB-034-2025 Proposed DR-2

<u>CB-034-2025</u> AN ACT CONCERNING HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION

for the purpose of revising the composition of the Historic Preservation

Commission.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2025034</u>

CB-034-2025 Summary

CB-034-2025 (Proposed DR-2)

CB-034-2025 PAFI Historic Preservation

CB-34-2025 OOL

M-NCPPC Comments on CB-34-2025

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

Excused: 1 - Harrison

CB-035-2025

ACT CONCERNING UNIVERSAL DESIGN FOR HOUSING - 2025

REVISIONS for the purpose of removing and re-lettering certain definitions; providing for revisions to certain design elements; providing for a certain clearance for certain exterior door entrances; providing for a certain clearance for certain lead walks; providing for a certain clearance for certain hallways on the accessible level; providing for a certain clearance for certain doorways on the accessible level; providing for a certain clearance for certain interior hallways in townhouse and two-over-two units; providing for a certain clearance for certain interior doorways in townhouse and two-over-two units; and generally regarding Universal Design elements for certain newly constructed residential housing dwelling units.

Attachment(s): B2025035

CB-035-2025 Summary

CB-035-2025 (DR-2) UD-2025 Revisions

(KHC)(5-14-2025)(1-15PM)

CB-35-2025 Proposed DR-2 UD Amendment Sheet Design Elements (KHC)(5-14-2025)

(9-00PM)

CB-035-2025 PAFI Universal Design for

Housing - 2025 Revisions - Final

CB-35-2025 OOL

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council

Member Hawkins, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

Excused: 1 - Harrison

CB-041-2025

AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING GREEN BUILDING STANDARDS -

<u>UNIVERSAL DESIGN</u> for the purpose of repealing Section 27-61603(b) Universal Design, The Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, Maryland, as universal design implementation is required, absent an exemption or waiver, pursuant to Subtitle 4. Building, Division 6. Universal Design for Housing, Prince George's County Code; and generally regarding zoning and universal design for housing.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>B2025041</u>

CB-041-2025 Summary

LDR-58-2025 Planning Board Recommendation

LDR-58-2025 Technical Staff Report

LDR-58-2025 email Transmittal of draft

legislative amendments to the local zoning laws

of the County -LDR-58-2025

LDR-58-2025 PGCPB Transmittal Pink Sheet

CB-41-2025 - ZHE Memo

CB-41-2025 OOL

CB-041-2025 (DR-2) Universal Design ZO

(KHC)(5-15-2025)(5-30PM)

CB-041-2025 (DR-2) Committee Report

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

Excused: 1 - Harrison

CB-045-2025

AN ACT CONCERNING COMMON OWNERSHIP COMMUNITIES PROGRAM RULES AND REGULATIONS PROMULGATION

<u>AUTHORITY</u> for the purpose of amending the rules and regulations promulgation authority under the Common Ownership Communities Program to include the County Council.

Attachment(s): B20205045

CB-045-2025 Summary

<u>CB-045-2025 PAFI Common Ownership</u> <u>Communities Program Rules and Regulations -</u>

Final

CB-45-2025 OOL

CB-045-2025 Committee Report

A motion was made by Vice Chair Oriadha, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Dernoga, Olson and Oriadha

Excused: 1 - Harrison

Absent: 1 - Hawkins

BRIEFING

BR 05152025a What is the Prince George's County Farm Bureau?

Dan Donohue

Prince George's County Farm Bureau, Inc., President Accokeek Farmer and owner of Donohue Downs LLC

Elizabeth Robinson

Prince George's County Farm Bureau, Inc., Vice President Upper Marlboro urban farmer with The Garden International

Jennifer Cross

Prince George's County Farm Bureau, Inc., Secretary Brandywine Farmer and family business R&D Cross

Jenna Marie Jones

Prince George's County Farm Bureau, Inc., Young Farmer Committee Chair University of Maryland Prince George's County, 4-H Educator

Attachment(s): Flyer Co Council mtg

Briefing held

ADJOURN

Adjourned

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member

Olson, that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

Absent: 1 - Harrison

Also present:

Rana Hightower, Director

Kathy Canning, Legislative Attorney

Charlotte Aheart, Committee Assistant

Leroy Maddox, Legislative Attorney

Maurene McNeil, ZHE

Shalene Miller-Whye, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst

Sakinda Skinner, CEX

Dinora Hernandez, OOL

Lakisha Hull, M-NCPPC

David Warner, M-NCPPC

Natalia Gomez Rojas, M-NCPPC

Courtney Meriette, OCR

MaShawn Hall, OCR

Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

Dan Donohue, Farm Bureau

Elizabeth Robinson, Farm Bureau

Jennifer Cross, Farm Bureau

Jenna Marie Jones, Farm Bureau

Cory Moore, Farm Bureau