

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

May 19, 2023

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga Chair Prince George's County Council 1301 McCormick Drive Largo, Maryland 20774

Dear Chair Dernoga:

It is my pleasure to submit to you and the County Council the reappointment of Ms. Nancy J. Meyer and Mr. Mouhaman S. Kola to the Prince George's County Solid Waste Advisory Commission (SWAC). Ms. Meyer will serve as Chair.

Mr. Mouhaman S. Kola, a resident of Suitland, is an Environmental Protection Specialist with the Department of Energy and Environment. He advocates and volunteers his time to educate others on the benefits of recycling and responsible waste management practices and is a Licensed Environmental Health Specialist. A member of the National Association for Environmental Management, he holds both a Bachelor of Science degree and a Master of Science degree in Environmental Management both from the University of Maryland University College.

Ms. Nancy J. Meyer, a resident of Hyattsville, is a non-profit executive who recently started NJM Consulting after serving as Chief Executive Officer/Chief Operating Officer at Community Forklift for fifteen years. She has extensive infrastructure development and organizational planning skills used to support start-up and community-based entrepreneurial and environmental non-profits. Ms. Meyer is a member of the Sierra Club and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Studio Arts and Individual Studies from the University of Maryland.

Pursuant to Section 21-125.03 of the Prince George's County Code and Sections 322, 402 and 504 of the Charter of Prince George's County, I am appointing the following individuals to the Prince George's County Solid Waste Advisory Commission.

Mr. Mouhaman S. Kola

Reappointment

Term Expiration: 11/5/2024

Ms. Nancy J. Meyer

Reappointment

Term Expiration: 11/5/2024

Attached for the County Council's consideration are Appointee Data Forms for each candidate. Their Financial Disclosure Statements have been transmitted to the Clerk of the Council. Your favorable Wayne K. Curry Administration Building • 1301 McCormick Drive, Largo, MD 20774 (301) 952-4131 • www.princegeorgescountymd.gov

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga May 19, 2023 Page 2

consideration of these appointments is appreciated. If I may provide you with any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me or Ms. Miriam L. Brewer, Appointments Liaison on (301) 952-4136.

Sincerely,

Angela D. Alsobrooks County Executive

Angela Alsobrooks

Attachments

cc: Members of the County Council

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Rhonda L. Weaver, County Attorney