

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Jolene Ivey, Chair, District 5 Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9 Wala Blegay, District 6 Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Wanika Fisher, District 2 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large Eric C. Olson, District 3 Krystal Oriadha, District 7 Ingrid S. Watson, District 4 Vacant - At-Large (effective: 06/15/2024)

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, June 25, 2024	7:30 PM	Princess Royale Oceanfront Resort
		(9110 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD
		21842); Palmetto Room 5

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

SPECIAL MEETING

7:30 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Jolene Ivey at 7:33 p.m. with 7 members present at roll call. Council Member Oriadha participated remotely and on camera. The Council Administrator announced that Council Members Dernoga and Burroughs had excused absences for the meeting. (Vacant - At-Large (effective: 06/15/2024))

County Council	Meeting Minutes - Final	
Present:	6 - Chair Jolene Ivey	
	Vice Chair Sydney Harrison	
	Council Member Wanika Fisher	
	Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins	
	Council Member Eric Olson	
	Council Member Ingrid Watson	
Excused:	2 - Council Member Thomas Dernoga	
	Council Member Edward Burroughs	
Absent:	Council Member Wala Blegay	
Remote:	1 - Council Member Krystal Oriadha	

Also present: Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Deputy Council Administrator (Virtual) Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator Donna Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council (Virtual) James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council (Virtual) Sakinda Skinner, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive (Virtual) Joseph Ruddy, Deputy County Attorney, Office of Law (Virtual)

BUSINESS MEETING

CR-060-2024

Draft 1

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Introduction of Resolutions

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SPECIAL ELECTION TO FILL A

<u>COUNCIL VACANCY</u> for the purpose of directing that a special election be held to fill a vacancy on the County Council and to establish the dates for conducting the special primary election, the special election, and the deadline for the certification of candidacy.

Sponsor(s): Ivey, Hawkins, Fisher, Harrison and Watson

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2024060 <u>CR-060-2024 Summary</u> <u>CR-60-2024 OOL Comments (Draft #2)</u> <u>AG PG Advice</u>

The proposed resolution is required to be adopted within 7 days of the vacancy in office created by the resignation of Council Member At-Large Mel Franklin effective June 14, 2024. The resolution establishes dates for conducting the required special primary election, the special election, and for the certification of candidates.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Ivey, Hawkins, Fisher, Harrison and Watson and referred to the Committee of the Whole.

MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

Consent25-24 Draft 1

> A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote: (Vacant - At-Large)

Aye 7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and Watson

Absent Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs

2. CONSIDERATION OF ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

NO ITEMS CONSIDERED

<u>REC14-24</u> Draft 1

<u>RECESS</u>

THE MEETING WAS RECESSED AT 7:36 PM.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by CouncilMember Olson, that this meeting be recessed. The motion carried by thefollowing vote: (Vacant - At-Large)Aye7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and

WatsonAbsentDernoga, Blegay and Burroughs

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

(SEE SEPARATE AGENDA)

RECONVENE

THE MEETING WAS RECONVENED AT 7:56 PM.			
Present:	6 -	Chair Jolene Ivey	
		Vice Chair Sydney Harrison	
		Council Member Wanika Fisher	
		Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins	
		Council Member Eric Olson	
		Council Member Ingrid Watson	
Excused:	2 -	Council Member Thomas Dernoga	
		Council Member Edward Burroughs	
Absent:		Council Member Wala Blegay	
Remote:	1 -	Council Member Krystal Oriadha	

3. RESOLUTIONS ELIGIBLE FOR FINAL READING – (ADOPTION)

CR-060-2024A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SPECIAL ELECTION TO FILL ADraft 1COUNCIL VACANCYto fill a vacancy on the County Council and to establish the dates for conducting the
special primary election, the special election, and the deadline for the certification
of candidacy.

Sponsor(s): Ivey, Hawkins, Fisher, Harrison and Watson

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2024060 <u>CR-060-2024 Summary</u> <u>CR-60-2024 OOL Comments (Draft #2)</u> <u>AG PG Advice</u>

Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator, provided a verbal report of the actions and recommendations of the Committee of the Whole for CR-060-2024.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Fisher, that a new draft of this Resolution be substituted. The motion carried by the following vote: (Vacant - At-Large)

Aye	7 -	Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Oriadha and
		Watson
Absent		Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs

A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by

County Council		Meeting Minutes - Final	June 25, 2024		
	the following vote: (Vacant - At-Large)				
	Aye	7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson, Watson	Oriadha and		
	Absent	Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs			
<u>ADJ65-24</u> Draft 1	<u>ADJOURN</u>				
	THE COUNCIL MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 8:00 PM.				
	A motion was made by Vice Chair Harrison, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote: (Vacant - At-Large)				
	Aye	7 - Ivey, Harrison, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson,Watson	Oriadha and		
	Absent	Dernoga, Blegay and Burroughs			

Prepared by:

Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council