

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee

Wanika Fisher, Chair
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair
Wala Blegay
Eric C. Olson
Ingrid S. Watson

Staff Support:

Sandra Eubanks – Committee Director, x25353 Leroy Maddox – Legislative Attorney, x-23846 Ramon Gonzalez – Legislative Attorney, x-23476 Rhonda Riddick – Committee Assistant, x24525

Thursday, February 20, 2025

1:30 PM

Committee Room 2027

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair Fisher at 1:33 p.m. with 4 members present at roll call. Council Member Olson had an excused absence.

Present: 4 - Chair Wanika Fisher, Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins,

Council Member Wala Blegay and Council Member

Ingrid Watson

Excused: 1 - Council Member Eric Olson

APPOINTMENTS

APPT-1-25

Appointment of the following individual to the Prince George's County Police Accountability Board:

Stephanye R. Maxwell, Esq., CPM

Appointment

Replacing: Daniel C. Vergamini Term Expiration: June 30, 2027

Attachment(s): 01 10 2025 PAB Appointment Package

Transmittal Redacted

01_10_2025_PAB_Appointment Package CommitteeReport Appt-1-25 PAB 02.20.2025

A motion was made by Vice Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Blegay, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Blegay and Watson

Absent: 1 - Olson

APPT-2-25

Appointment of the following individual to the Commission for Women:

Zipporah Miller, Ed.D.

Appointment

Replacing: Ioana Stoica

Term Expiration: May 1, 2027

Attachment(s): 01_17_2025_Commission for Women_Appt

package

01 17 2025 Commission for Women Appt

Package Transmittal Redacted

<u>CommissionforWomenAppointmentCommitteeR</u>

eport 2.20.25

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Appointment be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Blegay and Watson

Absent: 1 - Olson

LEGISLATION

CB-007-2025

AN ACT CONCERNING COUNTY EMPLOYEE ACCESS TO IN VITRO FERTILIZATION AND EGG FREEZING FERTILITY COVERAGE for the purpose of requiring that any health insurer contracted to offer health insurance plans to county employees include health insurance plans which will feature and have IVF and Egg Freezing fertility coverage as an offered part of health insurance.

Sponsor(s): Fisher

Attachment(s): B2025007

<u>CB-007-2025 Summary</u> <u>CB-007-2025 Report</u> <u>CB-007-2025 PAFI</u>

A motion was made by Chair Fisher, seconded by Vice Chair Hawkins, that this Council Bill be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Blegay and Watson

Absent: 1 - Olson

A motion was made by Chair Fisher, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Blegay and Watson

Absent: 1 - Olson

CR-006-2025

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE EXTENSION OF TIME FOR THE TASK FORCE TO ADDRESS HOSPITAL EMERGENCY ROOM WAIT TIMES for the purpose of extending the reporting time for the Task Force to Address Hospital Emergency Room Wait Times and adding two additional members.

Sponsor(s): Blegay, Watson, Fisher, Oriadha, Burroughs and Olson

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2025006

CR-006-2025 Summary

CR-006-2025 PAFI Emergency Room Wait

Times Task Force Extension - Final

CR-006-2025 Committe Report 02.20.2025

A motion was made by Council Member Blegay, seconded by Council Member Watson, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Blegay and Watson

Absent: 1 - Olson

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council Member Blegay, that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Fisher, Hawkins, Blegay and Watson

Absent: 1 - Olson

Others Present:

Sandra Eubanks, Committee Director
Rhonda Riddick, Committee Aide
Leroy Maddox, Legislative Attorney
David Noto, Legislative Budget and Policy Analyst
John Erzen, Deputy Chief of Staff, CEX
Dinorah Hernandez, Office of Law, CEX
Miriam Brewer, Appointments Liaison, CEX
Stephanye R. Maxwell, Esq., CPM, Police Accountability Board
Zipporah Miller, Ed.D., Commission for Women
Gitana Stewart-Ponder, Deputy Director, OHRM