

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Edward P. Burroughs III, Chair, District 8
Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair, District 7
Wala Blegay, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, At-Large
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4
Vacant - District 5 (effective: 12/05/2024)

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, May 6, 2025

6:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

6:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

The meeting was reconvened by Chair Edward P. Burroughs, III, at 6:11 p.m. with 8 members present at roll call. Council Member Blegay arrived at 6:15 p.m. Council Member Harrison had an excused absence. (Vacant - District 5 (effective: 12/05/2024)).

Present:

9 - Council Member Wala Blegay
 Council Member Thomas Dernoga
 Council Member Wanika Fisher
 Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Eric Olson Council Member Ingrid Watson

Member Jolene Ivey Chair Edward Burroughs Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha

Excused: 1 - Council Member Sydney Harrison

Also present:

Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator
Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council
James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council
Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney

PUBLIC HEARINGS: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 05062025

Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2026 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2026 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s): Office of Management & Budget Site
County Council Budget Portal

County Budget Public Comments CC 05-06-2025

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 6:11 p.m. Lea Shuler, Marcal Graham, Phylis Givens, Melvin Greene, Voncille Greene, Leslie Perry, Jamey Tolson, Julie Marks, Janet Gingold, Naomi Edelson, Joanne Jackson, Lily Fountain, Cinthya Rivera, Rodrigo Stein, Nancy Jimenz, Abby Collins, Mikayla Newton, Amy Pergosky, Dr. Robert M. Ponchtera, Scarlet Rodriguez, Leannie Dules, Amberley Torres, Kevin Amanis, Yamilet Diaz Villada, Michael Figueroa, Emi Ayala, Rina Campbell, Otto Hernandez, Jeniffer Leon, Nazarene Maloney, Pastor Ben Slye, Vanessa Davis, Sonya J. Bruton, Dan Smith, Katerra Jones, Grant Walker, Sharon Zalewski, George Escobar, Shaun King, Kelly Nickel, Onyinyechi Chuku, Sandra Peaches, Brendon Flowers, Janice Liggins, Mariah Jallad, Kathy Bartolo, Jeanette Louis-Spanglo, Demetria Whitley, Richard Mattox, Rick Thompson, Eric Williams, Bryan Young, Sonya Wahi-Miller, Deandra Smith, Sharon Gibbs Cooper, Sharon Laws, Alison Frane, Deborah Spencer and Brenda Ceasar signed up to speak. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Leroy D. Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney, provided an overview of

additional CIP projects to be considered. The public hearing concluded at 8:35 p.m.

This Public Hearing was held.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of two (2) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: onlinesignup@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Edward P. Burroughs III, Chair Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Drive Largo, Maryland 20774

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Edward P. Burroughs III
- (b) Introduction of Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials
- (d) Comments by Citizens:

ADJOURN

THIS MEETING ADJOURNED AT 8:35 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council Member Olson, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Prepared by:
Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council