# **ACTION MINUTES**

#### Wednesday, November 27, 2013

**Business Meeting** 

## (Legislative Day No. 38 to be declared)

# COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> - Council Chair Harrison called to order at 9:58 a.m. with the following Council Members present:

Andrea Harrison
Derrick Davis
Mel Franklin
Mary Lehman
Eric Olson
Karen Toles (arrived at 10:14 a.m.)
Ingrid Turner

Absent:

Will Campos Obie Patterson

#### Others present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Jr., Deputy Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council
Theresa D. Myers, Office of the Clerk of the Council
Lisa Jackson, County Executive's Office
Calvin Hawkins, County Executive's Office
LaKeecia Allen, Office of Law
Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer
Frank Porter, Director, PSFM Committee

**INVOCATION:** The Invocation was provided by Edwin H. Brown, Jr., County Employee. Council Member Turner requested prayer for all those traveling this holiday season. Chair Harrison requested prayer for the citizens of Prince George's County, the state of Maryland and the United States and for world-wide peace and prosperity.

<u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</u> - The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Davis.

<u>POINT OR PERSONAL PRIVILEGE</u> - Chair Harrison welcomed The Honorable Valerie Irvin, Council Member, Montgomery County.

# DESIGNATION OF NOVEMBER 27, 2013 AS LEGISLATIVE DAY NO. 38 – Chair

Harrison designated Legislative Day number thirty-eight.

# 1. <u>BILLS ELIGIBLE FOR THIRD READING (ENACTMENT)</u>

<u>CB-94-2013 (DR-2) - AN ACT CONCERNING LABOR – MINIMUM WAGE</u> for the purpose of specifying the amount of the County minimum wage rate that is in effect for certain time periods and generally relating to the payment of wages. - <u>AMENDED</u>; <u>DR-3 ENACTED</u>

(Public hearing held 11/19/2013; introduced by Council Members Turner, Davis, Franklin, Harrison, Lehman, Olson, Patterson and Toles on 10/22/2013; favorably reported out of PSFM on 10/17/2013 with amendments)

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Council Bill be amended. Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer, gave an overview of the six amendments to be proffered. The motion carried 6-0 (Absent: Council Members Campos, Patterson and Toles). A motion was made by Chairman Franklin, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Council Bill be enacted. Under discussion, Council Members Lehman, Franklin, Olson, Davis, Turner and Harrison expressed the reasons for their support of this measure. The motion carried 7-0 (Absent: Council Members Campos and Patterson).

## REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

There were no requests.

<u>ADJOURN</u> – The meeting was adjourned at 10:19 a.m.	
Prepared By:	
Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council	
Submitted By:	

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council