

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Edward P. Burroughs III, Chair, District 8
Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair, District 7
Wala Blegay, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Wanika Fisher, District 2
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large
Jolene Ivey, At-Large
Eric C. Olson, District 3
Ingrid S. Watson, District 4
Vacant - District 5 (effective: 12/05/2024)

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Monday, April 28, 2025

6:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

6:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Chair Edward P. Burroughs III at 6:23 p.m. with 9 members present at roll call. Council Member Blegay arrived at 6:56 p.m. (Vacant - District 5 (effective: 12/05/2024)).

Present: 10 - Council Member Wala Blegay

Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Wanika Fisher Council Member Sydney Harrison Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Eric Olson Council Member Ingrid Watson

Member Jolene Ivey Chair Edward Burroughs Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha Also present:

Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council
James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council
Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney

BUSINESS MEETING

PUBLIC HEARINGS: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 04282025
Draft 1

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2026 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2026 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s): Office of Management & Budget Site

County Council Budget Portal

CC Budget PH 04.28.2025 Public Comments

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 6:10 p.m. Sheriff John D.B. Carr, Robert Warren, Jessica Port, JD Perkins, Lea Shuler, Solomon Hamilton III, Julia Marks, Martin Mitchell, Shelby Cox, Lou Holder, Taylor Thomas, Sydney Jackson, Marvin Jackson, Noel James Okoth, Herbert Jones, Curtis Crutchfield, Adrienne Grierson, Tolson Banner, Mikayla Newton, Delbert K. Rigsby, Markette Sheppard, Patricia Thornton, Steven Goodman, Milly Hall, Melissa Schweisguth, Kit Slack, Sierra Jackson, Tyra Ware, Bryce Parker, Lou Holder, Yolanda Johnson, John Greene, Charlean Rice, Pastor Ben Slye, Erika Cumber, Chris Thomas, Phil Lewis, Denise Hall, Brittney Aleah, Tara Jones, Ruby Stemmle, Ervin G. Reid, Loretta Rich, Geoffry Collins and Colandra Young signed up to speak. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. The public hearing concluded at 8:31 p.m.

The Public Hearing for this Budget was held; no votes were taken.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: onlinesignup@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Edward P. Burroughs III, Chair Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Drive Largo, Maryland 20774

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Edward P. Burroughs III
- (b) Introduction of Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials
- (d) Comments by Citizens:

ADJ43-25

Draft 1

ADJOURN

THIS MEETING ADJOURNED AT 8:31 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye

10 - Blegay, Dernoga, Fisher, Harrison, Hawkins, Olson, Watson, Ivey, Burroughs and Oriadha

Prepared by:
Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council