

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Edward P. Burroughs III, Chair, District 8 Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair, District 7 Shayla D. Adams-Stafford, District 5 Wala Blegay, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Wanika Fisher, District 2 Sydney J. Harrison, District 9 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large Jolene Ivey, At-Large Eric C. Olson, District 3 Ingrid S. Watson, District 4

Colette R. Gresham, Acting Council Administrator

Tuesday, July 1, 2025	6:00 PM	Council Hearing Room
-----------------------	---------	-----------------------------

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

6:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

This joint public hearing was convened by Chair Edward P. Burroughs, III, at 6:23 p.m. with seven Council Members present. Council Member Blegay arrived at 6:53 p.m.

Present:	8 -	Council Member Wala Blegay
		Council Member Thomas Dernoga
		Council Member Wanika Fisher
		Council Member Eric Olson
		Council Member Ingrid Watson
		Member Jolene Ivey
		Chair Edward Burroughs
		Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha
Absent:		Council Member Sydney Harrison
		Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins
		Council Member Shayla Adams-Stafford

Also present: Colette Gresham, Acting Council Administrator Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council James Walker-Bey, Associate Clerk of the Council Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide Dorothy Bailey, Vice-Chair, Prince George's County Planning Board (participated remotely) Manuel Geraldo, Member, Prince George's County Planning Board A. Shuanise Washington, Member, Prince George's County Planning Board

JT 07012025 Draft 1

THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL, SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL, AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PLANNING BOARD OF THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PRELIMINARY WEST HYATTSVILLE-QUEENS CHAPEL SECTOR PLAN AND PROPOSED SECTIONAL MAP AMENDMENT (SMA) (DRAFT III) (CR-002-2022)

Pursuant to the Regional District Act within the Land Use Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, as well as Subtitle 27 of the Prince George's County Code, being also the Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, Maryland, notice is hereby given that a public hearing will be held to seek public comment and testimony.

Attachment(s):WHQC Sector Plan -3rd Draft 04-24-2025WHQC SMA 3rd Draft 04-24-2025WHQC PGCPB Transmittal Sheet 06-17-2025WHQC Joint Public Hearing Errata 05-29-2025WHQC Joint Public Hearing Exhibit List 07-01-2025WHQC Planning Director Transmittal LetterWHQC Preliminary Sector Plan & Proposed SMAWHQC PGCPB Transmittal 04-28-2025WHQC Public Facilities ReportWHQC Sector Plan and SMA_email TransmittalWHQC JPH Presentation 07-01-2025

This joint public hearing convened at 6:23 p.m. with eight Council Members present along with Dorothy Bailey, Vice-Chair (virtual participation), Manuel Geraldo, Member, and A. Shuanise Washington, Member, Prince

George's County Planning Board, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC). Thomas Lester, Project Manager, M-NCPPC, and Justin Thornton, Deputy, Project Manager, M-NCPPC, provided a brief overview and facilitated a PowerPoint presentation titled "West Hyattsville-Queens Chapel Sector Plan and Sectional Map Amendment". The presentation highlighted the following: Background; Sector Plan Area; Plan Vision; Community Outreach Recap; Major Changes Overview; Land Use & Zoning; Major Change Local Transit Center Boundary; Major Changes Land Use; Major Change Future Land Use; Existing Zone; Major Change Proposed Zoning; Transportation & Mobility; Major Change Transportation; Major Change Bicycle & Pedestrian Facilities; Economic Prosperity; Natural Environment; Housing & Neighborhoods; Major Changes Housing & Neighborhoods; Community Heritage, Culture & Design; Major Change Community Heritage, Culture & Design; Healthy Communities; Public Facilities; Major Change: Public Facilities; and Anticipated Schedule. Alan Socha, Peter Stockus, Yahnei Shambourger, Melissa Schweisguth, Andrea Ganesh, Ravi Ganesh, II, Nancy Gaskins, Jewel Smith, Casey Cirner, Pat Padua, James Butty, Midgett Parker, Brandon Todd, Niambi Carter, Yvonne Penn signed up to speak for this item. All persons wishing to speak having done so this public hearing was declared held. The joint public hearing concluded at 7:30 p.m.

This Joint Public Hearing was held.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of two (2) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: onlinesignup@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Written comments may be submitted through the close of business on Wednesday, July 16, 2025, when the record of public hearing testimony will close. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged.

HEARING AGENDA

(a) Call to Order

- (b) Introduction of the County Council Members and Planning Board Members
- (c) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Edward P. Burroughs III
- (d) M-NCPPC staff presentation

Thomas Lester, Project Manager Justin Thornton, Deputy Project Manager

- (e) Comments by elected and appointed officials:
- (f) Comments by citizens:

ADJ56-25 ADJOURN

Draft 1

THIS MEETING ADJOURNED AT 7:30 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Watson, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by an unanimous vote.

Aye8 -Blegay, Dernoga, Fisher, Olson, Watson, Ivey, Burroughs
and OriadhaAbsentHarrison, Hawkins and Adams-Stafford

Prepared by:

Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council