

## **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Report of the Standing Committee - Final Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee

Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair Krystal Oriadha, Vice Chair Sydney J. Harrison Calvin S. Hawkins, II Eric C. Olson

Staff Support:

Rana Hightower, Committee Director, x23718

Eric Irving – Legislative Attorney, x25261(Planning/Zoning)

Kathy Canning – Legislative Attorney, x23186 (Housing)

Charlotte Aheart – Committee Assistant, x24199

Thursday, June 5, 2025

10:00 AM

**Committee Room 2027** 

#### VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### **ORDER OF PROCEEDING**

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Present: 5 - Chair Thomas Dernoga, Council Member Sydney
Harrison, Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, Council
Member Eric Olson and Vice Chair Krystal Oriadha

Other Council Member Present: Wala Blegay

#### **LEGISLATION**

CB-026-2025

### AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING DEVELOPMENT STANDARDS IN

**TRANSIT-ORIENTED ZONES** for the purpose of modifying the parking or site plan requirements for senior-serving developments located in transit-oriented zones; requiring that a parking or site plan for such developments include a parking demand study; and setting forth the necessary elements of the parking demand study.

*Attachment(s)*: B2025026

CB-026-2025 Summary

LDR-2-2025 Planning Board Recommendation

LDR-2-2025 Technical Staff Report

LDR-2-2025 M-NCPPC email Transmittal

LDR-2-2025 PGCPB Transmittal Pink Sheet

CB-026-2025 Proposed Draft 2

CB-026-2025 Proposed DR2 42 USCS 3607

CB-26-2025 - ZHE Memo

CB26 4.25.25

CB-26-2025 OOL Comment

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha, that this Council Bill be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Harrison, Olson and Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Hawkins

#### CB-027-2025

AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING USE REGULATIONS - PRESERVING ACCESS TO OPIOID TREATMENT SERVICES for the purpose of defining opioid treatment centers as a new principal use type; establish the zones in which this new use type is permitted, as shown on the principal use tables; setting forth conditions under which this new principal use may be approved; and establishing off-street parking requirements for this new use type.

*Attachment(s)*: B2025027

CB-027-2025 Summary

LDR-53-2025 Planning Board Recommendation

LDR-53-2025 M-NCPPC Technical Staff

Report

LDR-53-2025 M-NCPPC email Transmittal

LDR-02-2025 PGCPB Transmittal Pink Sheet

CB-027-2025 ZHE Memo

CB-027-2025 Proposed DR2

CB-027-2025 MTC Sites 20250425

CB-027-2025 OTC Sites 20250425

CB-027-2025 Proposed DR2A1

CB-27-2025 OOL Comment

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha, that this Council Bill be Held in Committee for further study,

encouraging Planning Board comments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Harrison, Olson and Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Hawkins

#### CR-043-2025

## A RESOLUTION CONCERNING ZONING ORDINANCE - USE REGULATIONS - PRESERVING ACCESS TO OPIOID TREATMENT

**SERVICES** for the purpose of approving, with the force and effect of law, a new principal use type - opioid treatment centers; setting conditions for approving development applications for opioid treatment centers; identifying the zones in which such centers are permitted by right; setting forth off-street parking requirements for such treatment centers.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>R2025043</u>

<u>CR-043-2025 Summary</u> <u>CR-043-2025 ZHE Memo</u> <u>CR-043-2025 Proposed DR-2</u>

CR-43-2025 - Proposed Amendments (6.2.25) CR-43-2025 OOL Comment (Proposed Dr. 2)

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Resolution be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Dernoga, Harrison, Olson and Oriadha

**Absent:** 1 - Hawkins

#### CB-040-2025

<u>AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING LCD ZONE</u> for the purpose of authorizing the issuance of grading permits in the LCD Zone under certain circumstances.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: B2025040

CB-040-2025 Summary

LDR-44-2025 Planning Board Recommendation

LDR-44-2025 Technical Staff Report

LDR-44-2025 email Transmittal of draft

legislative amendments to the local zoning laws

of the County -LDR-44-2025

LDR-44-2025 PGCPB Transmittal Pink Sheet

CB-40-2025 - ZHE Memo

CB-40-2025 (Proposed DR-2) LDR-40-2025

CB-40-2025 OOL Comment

CB-040-2025 (DR-2) Committee Report

CB-40-2025 (DR-2) Final

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended with amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Dernoga, Harrison, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

#### CB-042-2025

# AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING APPLICATION-SPECIFIC REVIEW PROCEDURES AND DECISION STANDARDS - DETAILED SITE PLANS

<u>AND SPECIAL EXCEPTIONS</u> for the purpose of amending the decision standards for approval of detailed site plan and special exception applications to include master plan consistency as a required standard for site plan approval.

*Attachment(s)*: B2025042

CB-042-2025 Summary

LDR-61-2025 Planning Board Recommendation

LDR-61-2025 Technical Staff Report

LDR-61-2025 email Transmittal of draft

legislative amendments to the local zoning laws

of the County -LDR-61-2025

LDR-61-2025 PGCPB Transmittal Pink Sheet

**CB-42-2025 ZHE Memo** 

MBIA Comments - CB 42-2025

Final ecomments export CB-042-2025 PHED

6.5.2025 (002)

CB-042-2025 master plan consistency - rodgers

testimony 6-25

CB-42-2025 OOL Comment

A motion was made by Chair Dernoga, seconded by Vice Chair Oriadha,

that this Council Bill be Held in Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Dernoga, Harrison, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

#### **ADJOURN**

Adjourned

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Chair Dernoga, that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Dernoga, Harrison, Hawkins, Olson and Oriadha

Also present:

**Stacey Jones** 

Rana Hightower, Director
Eric Irving, Legislative Attorney
Charlotte Aheart, Committee Assistant
Maurene McNeil, ZHE
Sakinda Skinner, CEX
Dinora Hernandez, OOL
Lakisha Hull, M-NCPPC
David Warner, M-NCPPC
Natalia Gomez Rojas, M-NCPPC
Dr. Matthew Levy, Health Department
Daniel Schlegel
Thomas Haller
Ed Gibbs
Nate Forman