

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Agenda - Final

County Council

Derrick Leon Davis, District 6, Chairman Mel Franklin, District 9 Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3, Vice Chairwoman Andrea C. Harrison, District 5 Mary A. Lehman, District 1 Obie Patterson, District 1 Deni L. Taveras, District 2 Karen R. Toles, District 7 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 8, 2017

7:00 PM

Council Hearing Room

7:00 P.M. CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PUBLIC HEARING: -(COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

PH 05082017PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2018 OPERATING
BUDGET, SIX YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE
CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S
COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY
2018 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE
REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, REVENUE AUTHORITY AND
INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S
COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE
Attachmant(s):

 Attachment(s):
 Chairman's Speech FY18 CYTR

 Charman Speech FY18 Multiyear Contracts

 FY18 Multiyear Contracts List

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitations of three (3) minutes per speaker have been imposed. One minute before the allotted time has elapsed, a yellow light will come on, to be followed by a tone and red flashing light indicating that no time remains. Your cooperation in immediately concluding your remarks will be very much appreciated. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Derrick Leon Davis, Chairman Prince George's County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772

HEARING AGENDA:

- (a) Introductory Remarks by Council Chairman Davis
- (b) Introduction of County Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials:

The Honorable Thomas Wright, City of Hyattsville, Council Member Ward 3 The Honorable Patrick Paschall, City of Hyattsville, Council Member Ward 3 (Speaking as an Individual)

- (d) Comments by Interested Citizens:
- 1. Sarah Cavitt, President, Indian Head Highway Area Action Council (IHHAAC)
- 2. Chanel Compton, Executive Director, Prince George's County African American Museum & Cultural Center
- 3. Robin McNair, Individual
- 4. Adeline Wilcox, Individual
- 5. Mr. Preston Mears, Individual
- 6. Sydney Daigle, Individual
- 7. Theresa Mitchell Dudley, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 8. Kalil Hunter, Student Artist, Culture Keepers
- 9. Jane Hirshberg, Campus & Community Engagement Manager, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

10. Erica L. Bondarev Repach, Associate Executive Director, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

- 11. Sasha Ernest, Maryland Regional Manager, Capital Area Food Bank
- 12. Jasmine Ramsay, Pennsylvania Ave. Seventh Day Adventist Church
- 13. Margaret Morgan-Hubbard, CEO, ECO City Farms

- 14. Jeffrey Dee, Director of Development, Habitat for Humanity Metro Maryland
- 15. Alyson Harkins, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 16. Dr. Robert M. Ponichtera, Executive Director, Liberty's Promise
- 17. Ms. Efuetngu (Efi) Asaha, Parkdale High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
- 18. Ms. Claudine Boussougon, Northwestern High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
- 19. Ms. Saffiatu Sankoh, Bladensburg High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
- 20. Ms. Ematu Sesay, High Point High School Student (Liberty's Promise)
- 21. Mark A. Noblett, Individual
- 22. Kim Rush Lynch, Agricultural Specialist, University of Maryland
- 23. Rommel Sandino, Individual
- 24. Varinia Morales, Individual
- 25. Albert Barnes, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 26. Julia Crusor, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 27. Arun Puracken, Member, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 28. Jennifer Lumpkin, Eco City Farms
- 29. Watani Hatcher, Eco City Farms
- 30. Kevin Alsop, Eco City Farms
- 31. Iris Martinez, Community Member, CASA
- 32. Ms. Shee Newman, Individual
- 33. Tanea Manning, Member, Food Equity Council
- 34. Angela Bowen, President & CEO, Community Services Foundation
- 35. Juan Stuart, Individual
- 36. Yvette Alexander, Board Member, Take Charge Juvenile Diversion Program, Inc.
- 37. Darrell Carrington, Board Chair, Take Charge Juvenile Diversion Program, Inc.
- 38. Sushitra Balachandran, Director, Community Research
- 39. Jon Robinson, Individual
- 40.Woody Woodruff, Member Democratic Socialists of America
- 41. Kyle De Jan, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 42. John Straub, Adelphi Hills Community Association (For Ann Stoddard, President)

43. Veronique Kent, Basketball Team Manager, Take Charge Juvenile Diversion Program, Inc.

- 44. Yvonne Baicich, Prince George's County Educators' Association (PGCEA)
- 45. Ray Ranker, Individual
- 46. Jennifer Linn, Individual
- 47. Shirley Kirkland, President, ACE-AFSCME Local 2250
- 48. Timothy Jansen, Executive Director, Community Crisis Services
- 49. Joseph Greer, Chief Steward of Maintenance Chapter, ACE-AFSCME Local 2250
- 50. Monica Meacham, Union Activist, ACE-AFSCME Local 2250
- 51. Amity Pope, Co-Lead Organizer, Progressive Maryland, PGC
- 52. Jennifer Freedman, Chief of Development & Finance, CASA
- 53. Roland Roy, Bus Driver, Local 2250 Member, Goddard Bus Lot
- 54. Rosalinda Vail Lucas, Community Member, CASA

- 55. Dr. Paul Butterworth, Individual
- 56. Lourdes Rodriguez, Individual
- 57. Eusebia Ramirez, Individual
- 58. Sallie Smith, Individual
- 59. Angela Gonzales, Latin American Youth Center
- 60. Francarlo Sosa, Individual
- 61. Maria de Leon, Individual
- 62. Valorie Jean, Member, Culture Keepers
- 63. Brenda Barris, Individual
- 64. Van Tran, Trainee, ECO City Farms
- 65. Erik Lopez, Individual

ADJOURN