

## PRINCE GEORGE'SIESUNTY

"Building the People's Movement

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

February 1, 2022

The Hon. Joanne C. Benson, Chair Prince George's County Senate Delegation James Senate Office Building, Room 214 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 The Hon. Nick Charles, Chair Prince George's County House Delegation Lowe House Office Building, Room 207 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

### Re: Prince George's County Council's Position on General Assembly Legislation

Dear Senator Benson & Delegate Charles:

It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Prince George's County Council, to transmit our position on pending proposed State legislation for the 2022 General Assembly Session. The Council met on **January 25**, **2022.** The enclosed report reflects our positions on General Assembly bills as they are currently drafted.

The Council appreciates the opportunity to work together with you and your colleagues to address issues important to our citizens and the operation of Prince George's County. Should you have any questions or need additional information please do not hesitate to contact me. For your convenience my office phone number is (301) 952-2195.

Thanks again, for your favorable consideration of the Council's positions.

Sincerely,

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Council Chair

#### Enclosures

cc: Hon. Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive

Prince George's County Senate Delegation Prince George's County House Delegation

Hon. Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair - House Ways & Means Committee

Hon. Luke Clippinger, Chair – House Judiciary Committee

Hon. Kumar P. Barve, Chair – House Environment & Transportation Committee



# PRINCE GEORGE'SIESUNTI

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member "Building the People's Movement"

## COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE REPORT

The Prince George's County Council met on January 25, 2022 with the following Members present:

Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Council Member, Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair

Council Member, Derrick L. Davis Council Member, Thomas E. Dernoga Council Member, Dannielle M. Glaros Council Member, Sydney J. Harrison

Council Member, Jolene Ivey

HB 25

Council Member, Rodney C. Streeter Council Member, Todd M. Turner

The Council voted for the following positions on the respective bills:

110 20	Remainded and Education for the Thisons (REER) the Sections
HB 102	Vehicle Laws – Race and Speed Contests - Penalties – <b>SUPPORT with AMENDMENT</b>
HB 134	Failure to Pay Rent Proceedings – Prohibition on Rent Increases and Sealing of Court Records – <b>SUPPORT</b>
HB 157	Vehicle Laws – Plug-In Electric Drive Vehicles – Reserved Parking Spaces – <b>SUPPORT</b>
HB 158	Maryland New Start Act of 2022 – <b>SUPPORT</b>
PG 404-22	Prince George's County-Land Use – Inclusionary Zoning Around Transit Station - <b>OPPOSE</b>
PG/MC 105-22	Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission- Minority Business Enterprise Utilization Program – Termination Extension – <b>SUPPORT</b>

Rehabilitation and Education for All Prisons (REAP) Act – SUPPORT