PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL

COMMITTEE REPORT

2022 Legislative Session

Reference No.: Appointments

Draft No.: 1

Committee: COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Date: 2/17/2022

Action: FAV

REPORT:

Committee Vote: Favorable 10-0-1 (In favor: Council Members, Hawkins, Harrison, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Ivey, Streeter, Turner and Burroughs. Abstaining: Taveras).

The Committee of the Whole convened on February 17, 2022, to consider the appointment /reappointment of the following seven (7) individuals to serve on the Agricultural Resources Advisory Committee for Prince George's County:

William "Bill" O. Ritchie, Jr. (Appointment)

Citizen member Replacing: Margaret Morgan-Hubbard

Term Expiration: 6/30/2024

Mr. Steven E. Darcey (Re-appointment)

Soil Conservation District member

Term Expiration: 6/30/2023

Mr. Daniel A. Donohue (Re-appointment)

Forestry Industry member Term Expiration: 6/30/2024

Ms. Essita R. Duncan (Appointment)

Non-Farming Interest member Term Expiration: 6/30/2024

Mr. Darren T. Gibson, Ed.D. (Appointment)

Citizen member Replacing: Bradley P. Miller

Term Expiration: 6/30/2023

Ms. Jo-Ann Romano (Re-appointment)

Farm Bureau Representative Replacing: Robert Yates Clagett

Term Expiration: 6/30/2024

Ms. Pharyn E. Smith (Appointment) Citizen member Replacing: Jo-Ann L. Romano Term Expiration: 6/30/2024

Miriam Brewer, the County Executive's Appointments Liaison, introduced the appointees. Ms. Brewer also indicated the Administration plans to submit additional appointees in 2022. The Committee's discussion included: efforts to increase geographic diversity of membership (e.g., urban farming representation), increased focus on the farm-to-table concept, coordination with the Food Security Task Force and the need for annual reports or updates from this committee.

After the discussion, the Committee voted favorably on the seven (7) appointments by a vote of 10-0-1.