COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND

2022 Legislative Session

Resolution No.	CR2022
Proposed by	
Introduced by	
Co-Sponsors Date of Introduction	

RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION concerning

Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission – Prince George's County Members -Appointment and Geographic Balance

For the purpose of addressing the geographic distribution and balance of the membership of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and confirming Peter A. Shapiro to serve as a member of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and as Chairperson of the Prince George's County Planning Board to serve on a full-time basis.

WHEREAS, the Annotated Code of Maryland, Land Use Article, Section 15-203(b)(4) requires that, in making and approving appointments to the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, the County Council and County Executive shall attempt to provide reasonable geographic balance with respect to the places of residence of the members; and

WHEREAS, the Annotated Code of Maryland, Land Use Article, Section 15-203(b)(4) further requires that the appointment resolution for each appointment shall describe the resulting geographic distribution and provide appropriate explanations; and

WHEREAS, the County Executive has duly nominated Peter A. Shapiro, a resident of Brentwood, to serve as a member of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and to serve on a full-time basis as Chairperson of the Prince George's County Planning Board; and

WHEREAS, a public hearing on the nomination and confirmation of Mr. Shapiro has been held; and

WHEREAS, the remaining four members of the Commission from Prince George's County are residents of Temple Hills, Fort Washington, Mitchellville and Hyattsville respectively.

1

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the County Council of Prince George's County, Maryland, that, with the appointment of Peter A. Shapiro to the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, there continues to be reasonable geographic distribution with respect to the places of residence of the members of the Commission from Prince George's County.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Peter A. Shapiro is hereby confirmed as a member of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and as Chairperson of the Prince George's County Planning Board, with a term expiring June 14, 2025.

Adopted this _____ day of _____, 2022.

COUNTY COUNCIL OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND

BY:

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair

ATTEST:

Donna J. Brown Clerk of the Council

8

1

2