

PRINCE GEORGE'SI

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member "Building the People's Movement"

March 29, 2022

The Hon. Joanne C. Benson, Chair Prince George's County Senate Delegation James Senate Office Building, Room 214 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 The Hon. Nick Charles, Chair Prince George's County House Delegation Lowe House Office Building, Room 207 Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Re: Prince George's County Council's Position on General Assembly Legislation

Dear Senator Benson & Delegate Charles:

It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Prince George's County Council, to transmit our position on pending proposed State legislation for the 2022 General Assembly Session. The Council held its latest meeting to discuss legislation on March 28, 2022. The enclosed report reflects our positions on General Assembly bills as they are currently drafted.

The Council appreciates the opportunity to work together with you and your colleagues to address issues that are important to our citizens and to the operation of Prince George's County. Should you have any questions or need additional information please do not hesitate to contact me. For your convenience my office phone number is (301) 952-2195.

Thank you again, for your favorable consideration of the Council's positions.

Sincerely,

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Council Chair

Enclosures

cc: Hon. Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive Prince George's County Senate Delegation Prince George's County House Delegation Hon. Delores G. Kelley – Senate Finance Committee Hon. Guy Guzzone -Senate Budget & Taxation Committee Hon. William C. Smith – Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee Hon. Luke Clippinger, Chair – House Judiciary Committee Hon. Kumar P. Barve, Chair – House Environment & Transportation Committee



PRINCE GEORGE'SI

"Building the People's Movement"

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE REPORT

The Prince George's County Council met on March 28, 2022, with the following Members present: Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Council Member, Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair Council Member, Deni L. Taveras Council Member, Thomas E. Dernoga Council Member, Mel Franklin Council Member, Dannielle M. Glaros Council Member, Rodney C. Streeter Council Member, Todd M. Turner Council Member, Edward Burroughs, III

The Council voted for the following positions on the respective bills:

HB 1433	State Highways – Designations – Piscataway Highway - SUPPORT E&T, 3/31
SB 279/HB 571	Access to Counsel in Evictions Special Fund – Alteration - SUPPORT
HB 86/SB 6	Landlord and Tenant – Residential Leases – Tenant Rights and Protections (Tenant Protection Act of 2022) = SUPPORT