

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

August 5, 2022

The Honorable Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair Prince George's County Council County Administration Building Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772

Dear Chair Hawkins:

It is my pleasure to submit to you and the County Council the appointments of Mr. Kafi B. Agboola, Mr. William R. Brownlee, Ms. Phyllis A. Holton, Ms. Doris L. Jones, Mr. Frederick J.M. Kamara, Mr. James E. McDowell, Jr., Ms. Natalie G. Mitchell, and reappointing Ms. Veronica Davila-Steele, Ms. Tiffany Harkless, Mr. Raymond Raysor, and Ms. Marja Reed as members of the Commission for Individuals with Disabilities for Prince George's County.

Mr. Kafi B. Agboola, a resident of Bowie, is a Medication Therapy Management Pharmacist, with Aspen RxHealth where he consults with patients to collect their comprehensive medication history. He educates patients on disease states management and medication therapy to ensure best health outcomes. Mr. Agboola received his Bachelor of Science degree from Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and his Master of Science degree from Xavier University (OH). He will serve as an Agency/Provider member.

Mr. William R. Brownlee, a resident of Bowie, is a Business Services Representative/Staffing Specialist with the Maryland State Department of Education – Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS). As well-versed Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Network Trainer, he provides education and training to employers in understanding and complexity of hiring individuals with disabilities and advises employers accordingly. He will serve as an Agency/Provider member.

Ms. Veronica Davila-Steele, a resident of Oxon Hill, has served on the commission since 2018 as a general member.

Ms. Tiffany Harkless, a resident of Accokeek, has served on the commission since 2019 as a consumer member.

Ms. Phyllis A. Holton, a resident of District Heights, is Deputy Director for Operations with Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities where she oversees finance, human resources, development function, special projects and outreach functions of the organization. She possesses over thirty (30) years of experience working with and supporting adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. She will serve as an Agency/Provider member.

Ms. Doris L. Jones, a resident of Suitland, is a long-time Prince Georgian. She is currently a Professional Trainer with Graduate School USA after retiring from a federal government career spanning Wayne K. Curry Administration Building • 1301 McCormick Drive, Largo, MD 20774 (301) 952-4131 • www.princegeorgescountymd.gov

The Honorable Calvin S. Hawkins, II August 5, 2022 Page 2

nearly two (2) decades. Ms. Jones has benefited from Maryland Relay services after being diagnosed with Spasmodic Dysphonia, a voice disorder. She understands firsthand how individuals with disabilities cope and public perception. Ms. Jones will serve as a Consumer member.

Mr. Frederick J.M. Kamara, a resident of Bowie, has more than four (4) decades of experience in the areas of social policy, planning, administration, management, teaching and disabilities. He previously served as Chairman and Chief Commissioner, National Commission for Persons with Disability (NCPD) in Sierra Leone and implemented provisions of the Persons with Disability Act. Mr. Kamara also served as a Special Education Teacher and Case Manager with the District of Columbia Public Schools. He will serve as a consumer member.

Mr. James E. McDowell, Jr., a resident of Adelphi, is a long-time educator and is currently an Alternative I Teacher, Counselor and Substitute with Montgomery County Public Schools. He works with students, families, teachers, and community stakeholders to deescalate and stabilize student behaviors in grades 6th through 8th. Mr. McDowell brings instructional and operational leadership and will serve as a general member.

Ms. Natalie G. Mitchell, a resident of Upper Marlboro, is a Program Manager I with the Division of Rehabilitation Services, Division of Rehabilitation Services. She plans, coordinates, supervise and evaluates staff in four offices in Prince George's and Montgomery counties. Mr. Mitchell has over 30 years of experience working with people with differing abilities and will serve as a general member.

Mr. Raymond Raysor, a resident of Greenbelt has served on the commission since 2014 as a consumer member.

Ms. Marja Reed, a resident of Upper Marlboro has served as a provider member since 2018.

Pursuant to Section 2-431 of the Prince George's County Code and Sections 322, 402 and 504 of the Charter, I am appointing the following individuals to the Commission for Individuals with Disabilities:

Mr. Kafi B. Agboola, RPh Appointment Agency/Provider Member Replacing: Vacant (Donna Njoku) Term Expiration: 7/01/2025 Mr. William R. Brownlee Appointment Agency/Provider Member Replacing: Andrea Thomas Term Expiration: 7/01/2023 Ms. Veronica L. Davila-Steele Reappointment Consumer Member Term Expiration: 7/1/2025 Ms. Tiffany C. Harkless Reappointment **General Member**

Term Expiration: 7/1/2025 Ms. Phyllis A. Holton Appointment Agency/Provider Member Replacing: Vacant (Oyetunde Oyegoke) Term Expiration: 7/01/2024 Ms. Doris L. Jones Appointment Consumer Member Replacing: Lynda Taylor Term Expiration: 7/01/2023 Mr. Frederick J.M. Kamara Appointment Consumer Member Replacing: Gloria Jones Swieringa Term Expiration: 7/01/2024 Mr. James E. McDowell Appointment General Member Replacing: Vacant (Susan Stanley) Term Expiration: 7/1/2025 Ms. Natalie G. Mitchell Appointment General Member Replacing: Vacant (Barbara Harris) Term Expiration: 7/1/2023 Mr. Raymond Raysor Reappointment Consumer Member Term Expiration: 7/1/2023 Ms. Marja L. Reed Reappointment Agency/Provider Member Term Expiration: 7/1/2025

Attached for the County Council's consideration is an Appointee Data Form and resume for each nominee. Your favorable consideration of these appointments is appreciated. If I may provide you with any additional information, please contact Ms. Miriam L. Brewer, Appointments Liaison at (301) 952-4136.

Sincerely,

Angela D. Alsobrooks County Executive

Angela Alsobrooks

The Honorable Calvin S. Hawkins, II August 5, 2022 Page 4

Attachments

cc: Members of the County Council Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Rhonda L. Weaver, County Attorney