

PRINCE GEORGE'SICOUNTY

"Building the People's Movement"

Calvin S. Hawkins, II Chair At-Large Council Member

> The Honorable Angela Alsobrooks Prince George's County Executive Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Drive – Suite 400 Largo, MD 20774

Dear County Executive Alsobrooks:

The Prince George's County Council met as the Committee of the Whole (COW) on October 18, 2022, and received a briefing regarding the Fiscal Year 2022 Master Plan (Plan) from the Telecommunications Transmission Facilities Coordinating Committee (TTFCC).

During the COW members of the Council noted that the map reflects a large amount of new activity in the Northern portion of the County and significantly less locations in other parts of the County. The County Council supports the Fiscal Year 2023 Plan; however, it will be critical to place additional emphasis on the underserved areas in other parts of the County to avoid inequity of placement and service. To encourage the type of growth expected by many communities, further discussion, and action regarding equity are necessary to ensure and incentivize the rapid growth of small-cell technology. Collaborating with State and Federal partners will be important to the success of bringing additional resources to underserved communities.

According to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Eighth Broadband Progress Report, at least 19 million people do not have broadband. We feel further discussion with the Council through the Office of Information Technology (OIT) and the TTFCC is merited to ensure that we are planning to prevent a "Digital Divide" in Prince George's County while continuing to lead economic growth in the State of Maryland.

Thank you, for the opportunity to comment on the TTFCC Master Plan. We look forward to continued engagement with you. Please contact Mr. Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator, and copy Nathaniel Tutt, if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Calvin S. Hawkins II Council Chair

CC: County Council Members
Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator