The Hon. Michael A. Jackson, Chair Prince George's County Senate Delegation 3West Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991 The Hon. Nick Charles, Chair Prince George's County House Delegation Lowe House Office Building, Room 207 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Re: Prince George's County Council's Position on General Assembly Legislation

Dear Senator Jackson & Delegate Charles:

It is my pleasure, on behalf of the Prince George's County Council, to transmit our position on pending proposed State legislation for the 2023 General Assembly Session. The Council met on January 10, 2023. The enclosed report reflects our positions on General Assembly bills as they are currently drafted.

The Council appreciates the opportunity to work together with you and your colleagues to address issues important to our citizens and the operation of Prince George's County. Should you have any questions or need additional information please do not hesitate to contact me. For your convenience my office phone number is (301) 952-3887.

Thanks again, for your favorable consideration of the Council's positions.

Sincerely,

Thomas E. Dernoga Council Chair

Enclosures

 cc: Hon. Angela D. Alsobrooks, Prince George's County Executive Prince George's County Senate Delegation Prince George's County House Delegation Hon. Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair – House Ways & Means Committee Hon. C.T. Wilson, Chair – House Economic Matters Committee Hon. Kumar P. Barve, Chair – House Environment & Transportation Committee

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE REPORT

The Prince George's County Council met on January 10, 2023 with the following Members present:

Council Member, Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair Council Member, Wala Blegay, Vice Chair Council Member, Edward Burroughs, III Council Member, Wanika B. Fisher Council Member, Mel Franklin Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II Council Member, Calvin S. Hawkins, II Council Member, Sydney J. Harrison Council Member, Jolene Ivey Council Member, Eric C. Olson Council Member, Krystal Oriadha Council Member, Ingrid S. Watson

The Council voted for the following positions on the respective bills:

PG 303-23	Prince George's County – Speed Monitoring Systems on Maryland Route 210 (Indian Head Highway) – Penalties – SUPPORT
PG 304-23	Prince George's County – Speed Monitoring Systems – Maryland Route 210 (Indian Head Highway) – SUPPORT
PG 305-23	Prince George's County – Alcoholic Beverages – Development District License – SUPPORT
PG 501-23	Prince George's County Public Schools – Office of Integrity and Compliance – Establishment – SUPPORT
MC/PG 109-23	Maryland–National Capital Park and Planning Commission – Members - SUPPORT