

## PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

## OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

March 31, 2023

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga Chairman Prince George's County Council 1301 McCormick Drive, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Largo, Maryland 20774

Dear Chair Dernoga:

It is my pleasure to submit to you and the County Council the reappointment of Kathleen E. Driver, Cherie Gibson, Cynthia L. Miller, Thelma Newsome-Sommers and Festus N. Udejiofor to the Prince George's County Cable Television Commission. The Commission plays a vital role in the regulation and operation of our Cable Television franchise. Ms. Gibson serves as the Chair of the Commission.

Ms. Kathleen Driver, a resident of Mitchellville, is an entrepreneur and healthcare technology project manager. Ms. Driver has been providing management services, developing businesses and assisting business owners for over 25 years. She has been trained to serve as a full access television show producer, operating camera equipment, and engaging studio and field production. Ms. Driver received her Business Administration degree from Virginia State University.

Ms. Cherie S. Gibson, a resident of Bowie, is a senior communication director with two decades of experience in strategic communications, marketing and public involvement for design build, transit and mega projects. Her responsibilities include public involvement planning, media relations, training and stakeholder engagement. Ms. Gibson possesses a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill and a Master of Science degree from Duke University.

Ms. Cynthia L. Miller, a resident of District Heights, is the Mayor of District Heights. She entered political office in 2014 when she was elected Commissioner, Ward 1. As an elected official she is tasked with representing the interests of all District Heights citizens. Ms. Miller also serves as the President of the Prince George's County Municipal Association. She attended Norfolk State University.

Ms. Thelma C. Newsome Somers, CPA is a resident of Bowie and is an astute financial accounting professional with twenty years of financial management experience in non-profit, private sector and government accounting principles and applications. Ms. Newsome -Somers conducts forecasting, financial performance and investment analysis on a regular basis. She also develops short and long-term plans to achieve strategic objectives for growth and profitability. Ms. Newsome Somers received her Bachelor of Science in Social Work from Virginia Intermont College and her Master of Accountancy from George Washington University.

Mr. Festus N. Udejiofor, a resident of Bowie, will serve as a Public Member and will bring his systems engineering and auditing background to the Commission. He is currently a Senior Auditor with the United States Postal Service, Office of the Inspector General. He previously worked for the State of Maryland before starting his service with the federal government. Mr. Udejiofor graduated from Howard University with a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and from Kaplan University with a Master of Science in Accounting.

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga March 31, 2023 Page 2

Pursuant to Section 5A-119, of the Prince George's County Code, and Sections 322, 402 and 504 of the Charter of Prince George's County, I am reappointing the following individuals as members of the Cable Television Commission.

Ms. Kathleen E. Driver

Ms. Cherie Gibson

Ms. Cynthia L. Miller

Ms. Thelma Newsome Somers

Mr. Festus N. Udejiofor

Reappointment Cable TV Member

Term Expiration: 12/5/2026

Reappointment Public Member

Term Expiration: 12/4/2026

Reappointment Municipal Member

Term Expiration: 12/5/2026

Reappointment CPA Member

Term Expiration: 12/5/2026

Reappointment Public Member

Term Expiration: 12/5/2026

Attached for the County Council's consideration are the Appointee Data Forms for Kathleen E. Driver, Cherie S. Gibson, Cynthia L. Miller, Thelma C. Newsome-Somers and Festus N. Udejiofor. Your favorable consideration of this appointment is appreciated. If I may provide you with any additional information, please contact Ms. Miriam L. Brewer, Appointments Liaison at (301) 952-4136.

Sincerely,

Angela D. Alsobrooks County Executive

Angela Alsobrooks

## Attachments

cc: Members of the County Council Jennifer A. Jenkins. Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Rhonda L. Weaver, County Attorney