

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair, District 1 Wala Blegay, Vice Chair, District 6 Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8 Wanika Fisher, District 2 Mel Franklin, At-Large Sydney J. Harrison, District 9 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large Jolene Ivey, District 5 Eric C. Olson, District 3 Krystal Oriadha, District 7 Ingrid S. Watson, District 4

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

Tuesday, May 2, 2023	6:00 PM	Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

6:00 P.M. - RECONVENE - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

	lled to order by Chair Thomas E. Dernoga at 6:14 p.m. sent. Council Member Burroughs arrived at 6:18 p.m.
-	er Franklin arrived at 6:23 p.m.
9 -	Council Member Sydney Harrison
	Vice Chair Wala Blegay
	Chair Thomas Dernoga
	Council Member Eric Olson
	Council Member Wanika Fisher
	Council Member Edward Burroughs
	Council Member Jolene Ivey
	Council Member Krystal Oriadha
	Council Member Mel Franklin
	Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins
	Council Member Ingrid Watson
	rs pre. Iembe

Also present: Jennifer Jenkins, Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant Leroy Maddox, Jr, Legislative Officer Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel J. Kenneth Battle, Director, TIEE Committee

PUBLIC HEARING:

PH 05022023 Draft 1 PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2024 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2024 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: Office of Management & Budget Site

County Council Budget Portal Public Comments_5-02-2023 CC Public Hearing Public Comments from 4-24-2023 CC Public Hearing

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 6:14 p.m. Marcal Graham, June Evans, Catalina Sol, Cheryl Cort, Anna Beavan, Janet Gingold, Dan Behrend, Kate Talbot, Joseph Jakuta, Robert Ponichtera, Jalelie Negassa, Febe Garcia, Isatou Sall, Madeline Merino Ramos, Emily Dodge, Ryan Washington, Dwayne Brown, Lisa Lumford-Clark, Heaven Jordan, Amanda Standard, Terri Allen, CAAPA, Joy Alford, CAAPA, Lauren Roots, Florence Champagne, Gerald Spence, Janna Parker, Takia Toomer, Ann Stoddard, Annie Chelliah, Don Johns, Kara Bundy, Dellia Mahorne, Gloria Ward-Ravenell and Mary Braxton signed up for this item. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Leroy D. Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer, provided an overview of additional CIP projects.

This Public Hearing was held.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga, Chair Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building Largo, Maryland 20774

HEARING AGENDA

(a) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Thomas E. Dernoga

- (b) Introduction of the County Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials and/or Representatives of Municipalities:
- (d) Comments by Interested Citizens:

<u>ADJ39-23</u> Draft 1

ADJOURN

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 7:49 PM.

A motion wa	is mad	le by Cou	ncil M	ember O	lson, seco	onded b	y Cou	ncil
Member Ive	y, tha	t this mee	eting be	adjourn	ned. The r	notion	carried	l by
voice vote.								
•	0	тт ·	D1	р	01	T. 1	р	1

Aye	9 -	Harrison, Blegay, Dernoga, Olson, Fisher, Burroughs, Ivey,
		Oriadha and Franklin
Absent		Hawkins and Watson

Prepared by:

Edgar L. Reese, III, Legislative Reference Aide

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council