

THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772 www.pgplanning.org

June 30, 2023

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga, Chairman Prince George's County Council

Donna J. Brown Clerk of the Council Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administrative Building 1301 McCormick Drive Largo, MD 20772



Re: DSP-22028 Fairwood Square

Dear Chairman Dernoga:

On March 30, 2023, the Prince George's County Planning Board held a public hearing for Detailed Site Plan DSP-22028 Fairwood Square. The detailed site plan application is to construct 200 single-family attached dwellings in the Mixed Use-Transportation Oriented (M-X-T) Zone, in accordance with the provisions of Section 27-1704(b) of the Prince George's County Zoning Ordinance.

During the public hearing, the Planning Board and registered citizens expressed concerns regarding the central park feature, located within the proposed development. As a part of the approval, the Board added Condition 1.u. which states that, prior to certification of the detailed site plan, "The applicant shall further revise the layout to provide a central green area between Recreation Areas 1 and 2 that shall be acceptable and approved by Urban Design staff."

Subsequent to the public hearing, the applicant submitted a revised plan to the Urban Design Section. Staff has reviewed the revised plan, as provided with the applicant's letter dated June 27, 2023. Staff also found the revised plan to be acceptable and approved the plan, as required by Condition 1.u. of Prince George's County Planning Board Resolution No. 2023-44.

The Honorable Thomas E. Dernoga, Chairman June 30, 2023 Page 2

Sincerely,

James R. Hunt, Chief

James R. Hunt

Development Review Division M-NCPPC Prince George's County

Planning Department

Enclosure

cc: Peter Shapiro, Chair, Prince George's County Planning Board
Dorothy Bailey, Vice-Chair, Prince George's County Planning Board
A. Shuanise Washington, Commissioner, Prince George's County Planning Board
Manuel R. Geraldo, Commissioner, Prince George's County Planning Board
William M. Doerner, Commissioner, Prince George's County Planning Board
Suzann King, Acting Planning Director
Derick Berlage, Acting Deputy Planning Director
David Warner, Principal Counsel, M-NCPPC
Matthew Tedesco, McNamee Hosea, Attorney for the Applicant