

# **Prince George's County Council**

# Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Jolene Ivey, Chair, District 5 Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9 Wala Blegay, District 6 Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Wanika Fisher, District 2 Mel Franklin, At-Large Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large Eric C. Olson, District 3 Krystal Oriadha, District 7 Ingrid S. Watson, District 4

Jennifer A. Jenkins, Council Administrator

6:00 PM	<b>Council Hearing Room</b>
	6:00 PM

# VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

# 6:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting v	vas ca	lled to order by Chair Jolene Ivey at 6:10 p.m. with 9
members pres	ent at	roll call.
Present:	8 -	Chair Jolene Ivey
		Vice Chair Sydney Harrison
Council Member Wala Blegay		
		Council Member Wanika Fisher
		Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins
		Council Member Eric Olson
		Council Member Krystal Oriadha
		Council Member Ingrid Watson
Absent:		Council Member Edward Burroughs
		Council Member Mel Franklin
Remote:	1 -	Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Also present:

Karen Zavakos, Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council Natasha Avery, Legislative Reference Aide Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Attorney

### **BUSINESS MEETING**

### **PUBLIC HEARINGS: - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)**

PH 04292024 Draft 1 PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2025 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2025 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: Office of Management & Budget Site <u>County Council Budget Portal</u> <u>County Budget 6PM PH 4-29-2024 Public Comments</u>

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 6:10 p.m. Sarah Franklin, Sean Heyneman, Seth Grimes, Charles Colbert, Theresa Dudley, Christina Carian, Patricia Monroe, Susie Misla, Michael Jones, Christopher DeMarco, Shannon Mouton, Teena Curry, April Gower-Getz, Amy Pergosky, Vanessa Davis, Darlene Reyes, Lea Shuler, and Kelly Nichols signed up to speak. All persons wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. The public hearing concluded at 6:47 p.m.

# **County Council**

## HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Additionally, on-site registration for live testimony is now available; however, advance registration to testify is strongly encouraged. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Jolene Ivey, Chair Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building Largo, Maryland 20774

#### HEARING AGENDA

(a) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Jolene Ivey

- (b) Introduction of Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials
- (d) Comments by Citizens:

#### **ADJOURN**

### THIS MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 6:47 PM

A motion was made by Council Member Olson, seconded by Council Member Oriadha, that this be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye	9 -	Ivey, Harrison, Dernoga, Blegay, Fisher, Hawkins, Olson,
		Oriadha and Watson
Absent		Burroughs and Franklin

Prepared by:

Leonard Moses, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council

