PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL

COMMITTEE REPORT

2015 Legislative Session

Reference No.:	CB-081-2015
Draft No.:	1
Committee:	PLANNING, ZONING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Date:	September 30, 2015
Action:	No Recommendation

REPORT:

Committee Vote: No Recommendation, 3-0 (In favor: Council Members Harrison, Davis and Toles)

Staff gave an overview of the legislation and informed the committee of written referral comments and correspondence that were received. This legislation temporarily extends the validity period for all approved applications for Detailed Site Plans and Specific Design Plans with a valid status as of January 1, 2015. CB-81-2015 temporarily suspends the validity period until December 31, 2017. CB-81-2015 will not apply to any Detailed Site Plans or Specific Design Plns where the validity period has expired prior to adoption of the legislation or where any application's validity period begins after the date of adoption of this legislation. Council staff clarified that the work group, referenced in SECTION 5 on page 3, shall be established by the County Council.

The Office of Law reviewed CB-81-2015 and determined that the bill is in proper legislative form with no legal impediments to its enactment. The Planning Board took no position on the legislation. Mr. Bradley Heard submitted electronic mail communication dated September 28, 2015 urging the Committee not to advance CB-81-2015. Mr. Mike Bello submitted electronic mail communication dated September 29, 2015 noting that "it makes no sense for the council to extend the approval windows for these types of scattered sprawl projects." The Maryland Building Industry Association submitted a letter dated September 28, 2015 to PZED Committee Chair Harrison in support of the legislation.

The committee discussed the work group that will be established pursuant to SECTION 5 of the legislation. The intent of the work group is to develop standards for evaluation of plans subject to any future extension requests.

The following individuals testified in support of the legislation: William Chesley, Michele LaRocca, Matthew Tedesco, and James R. Estepp.

The committee voted no recommendation on CB-81-2015.