

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Todd M. Turner, Chair, District 4 Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, District 9 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, At-Large Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, Vice Chair, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

10:30 AM

Council Hearing Room

10:30 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (COUNCIL HEARING ROOM)

The meeting was called to order by Chair Glaros at 10:46 a.m. with eleven members present at roll call.

- Present: 11 Chair Todd Turner
 - Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker
 - Council Member Derrick Davis
 - Council Member Thomas Dernoga
 - Council Member Mel Franklin
 - Council Member Dannielle Glaros
 - Council Member Sydney Harrison
 - Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins II
 - Council Member Jolene Ivey
 - Vice Chair Rodney Streeter
 - Council Member Deni Taveras

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr. Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council Karen Zavakos, Legislative Officer

INVOCATION:

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Anderson-Walker.

REQUESTS BY THE GENERAL PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COUNCIL

There were no requests.

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

County Executive Angela Alsobrooks congratulated the members on their elections and expressed a desire to work in collaboration with the Council.

<u>1. REMARKS BY THE 2018 COUNCIL CHAIR</u>

Outgoing Chair Glaros thanked her colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chair of the Council. She also thanked her family, office staff and Legislative Branch staff for their support and spoke to the accomplishments achieved during her tenure.

2. ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2019 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

<u>CHAIR1-2019</u> Draft 1	ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 4, 2018 TO DECEMBER 2, 2019.
	A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that Todd M. Turner be elected as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:
	Aye11 -Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins II, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras
<u>VICE1-2019</u> Draft 1	ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL VICE CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 4, 2018 TO DECEMBER 2, 2019.
	A motion was made by Council Member Ivey, seconded by Vice Chair Streeter, that Rodney C. Streeter be elected as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins II, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

<u>3. EXCHANGE OF GAVEL</u>

4. REMARKS BY INCOMING 2019 COUNCIL CHAIR

Incoming Chair Turner thanked his colleagues for their votes of support and outlined his vision for the year to come.

ADJ6-18 ADJOURN

Draft 1

The meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Vice Chair Streeter, to ADJOURN the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,
Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins II, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

Prepared by:

Donna J. Brown, Deputy Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Redis C. Floyd, Clerk of the Council