## PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL COMMITTEE REPORT

## **2019 Legislative Session**

Reference No.:	Appointments:	Housing Authority Board of Commissioners
Draft No.:		
Committee:	PLANNING, HOUSING, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT	
Date:	10/17/2019	
Action:	FAV	

## **REPORT:**

Committee Vote: Favorable, 5-0 (In favor: Council Members Glaros, Davis, Dernoga, Hawkins, and Ivey)

The Planning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee met on October 17 to consider four appointments to the Housing Authority Board of Commissioners for Prince George's County. The Annotated Code of Maryland, Division II, Housing Authorities, Title 17, authorizes the Board to exercise its powers to provide housing, housing rehabilitation, housing projects, integrally related commercial structures, and their financing for County residents as well as exercise other functions and responsibilities required by the County, including community development.

Ms. Yolanda L. Hawkins-Bautista, a resident of Bowie, is being appointed to serve as Chair of the Board of Commissioners with term expiration in October 2024. Ms. Deborah K. Patrick, a resident of Mitchellville, is being appointed for a three-year term. Ms. Cherise M. Shannon, a resident of District Heights, is being reappointed as a tenant member with term expiring in October 2022. Mr. Layton F. Wilson, a resident of Upper Marlboro, is being appointed for a two-year term expiring in October 2021.

The appointees introduced themselves, provided brief biographical information, and discussed reasons for their willingness to serve on the Housing Authority Board of Commissioners.

The Planning, Housing, and Economic Development Committee voted favorable, 5-0, in favor of the appointments to the Housing Authority Board of Commissioners for Prince George's County.