

# **Prince George's County Council**

Meeting Minutes - Draft County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Todd M. Turner, Council Chair, District 4 Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, District 9 Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Vice Chair, At-Large Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, District 2

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 4, 2020	5:00 PM	Virtual Meeting

## JOIN USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### 5:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER

This virtual	meeting was called to order by Council Chair Turner at 5:06
p.m. with ele	even members present at roll call.
<b>Present:</b>	11 - Council Chair Todd Turner
	Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker
	Council Member Derrick Davis
	Council Member Thomas Dernoga
	Council Member Mel Franklin
	Council Member Dannielle Glaros
	Council Member Sydney Harrison
	Vice Chair Calvin S. Hawkins
	Council Member Jolene Ivey
	Council Member Rodney Streeter
	Council Member Deni Taveras

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer Karen T. Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel David Van Dyke, County Auditor Stanley A. Earley, Director OMB Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison Sakinda L. Skinner, Associate County Attorney Maria Fabara Nunez, Interpreter (Spanish) Nancy Fabara, Interpreter (Spanish) Sign Language Interpreter (Roslyn) Sign Language Interpreter (Carl)

### **PUBLIC HEARING:**

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2021 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2021 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

> Pursuant to proper notice, the virtual public hearing was convened at 5:06 p.m. The Council Chair welcomed everyone participating in the virtual meeting under the current state of emergency and pursuant to CR-10-2020. It was also noted that sign language and Spanish interpreters were available at this public hearing. Mr. Turner then read for the record, a statement with regard to the Prince George's County Fiscal Year 2021 Constant Yield Tax rate. The following persons provided verbal testimony (\* indicates that written testimony was submitted):

#### HEARING PROCEDURES:

A time limit of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. A tone will sound indicating that no time remains. Your cooperation in immediately concluding your remarks will be very much appreciated. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony using the Council's eComments portal at pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: ClerkoftheCouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Testimony and comments will not be accepted via social media, by telephone/voicemail message or U.S. mail. Comments must be received by 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 12, 2020 and should be addressed to:

The Honorable Todd M. Turner, Council Chair Prince George's County Council County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772

HEARING AGENDA

Comments by Elected Officials: 1. The Honorable Petrella Robinson, Mayor, Town of North Brentwood\*

### Comments by Interested Citizens:

- 1. Leah Paley\*
- 2. Sydney Daigle\*
- 3. Anne Marie Binsner\*
- 4. Leslye Dwight
- 5. Chanel Compton\*
- 6. Mark Noblett\*
- 7. Timothy Jansen
- 8. Marva Jo Camp
- 9. Robert Ponitchera (unable to attend)
- 10. Gary Allen\*
- 11. Nora Eidelman
- 12. Janet Gingold\*
- 13. Kate Talbot
- 14. Rob Malone\*
- 15. Joseph A. Fisher, First Generation College Bound
- 16. Selena Walker, First Generation College Bound
- 17. Jordan Colquitt, First Generation College Bound (unable to attend)
- 18. Edgar Urena Lizardo, First Generation College Bound
- 19. India Hudson, First Generation College Bound
- 20. Maricela Vigil, First Generation College Bound
- 21. Jacqueline Valdez, First Generation College Bound (unable to attend)

All persons wishing to speak having done so, this public hearing was declared held.

### This was public hearing held

#### **ADJOURN**

The meeting was adjourned at 6:25 p.m.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Streeter, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by:

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council