

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

August 25, 2020

The Honorable Todd M. Turner Council Chair Prince George's County Council **County Administration Building** Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772

Dear Council Chair Turner:

Enclosed for the County Council's consideration is a resolution in support of transit grant applications to the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) and the Maryland Department of Transportation Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT - MTA). Annually, the Department of Public Works and Transportation submits grant applications to the FTA and MDOT MTA under several of their programs. While historically, the county has cited only its Statewide Special Transportation Assistance Program (SSTAP) application in its annual resolution, the MDOT MTA has now requested that it be broadened to include others applied for within the Annual Transportation Plan and Maryland Transportation Program. These include:

- Section 5311 Funds used to offset operating cost for paratransit *Call-A-Bus* services;
- Large Urban Program Funds used to offset operating cost for *TheBus*;
- ADA Operating Funds providing demand response curb-to-curb transportation for persons with disabilities who are unable to use traditional fixed-route public transit; and,
- FTA's Low or No Emission Vehicle Program 5339(c) for the purchase of electric buses and charging stations.

The FTA and MTA require Prince George's County as the governing body to, by resolution, authorize the Director of the Department of Public Works and Transportation to file for these certain federal and state grant applications and accept award of grant funding.

The County's favorable consideration of this legislation is greatly appreciated. Please contact my office or Terry Bellamy, Director of Department of Public Works and Transportation, at (301) 883-5600, if you have any questions or need additional information.

Sincerely,

ngela D. Alsobrooks

County Executive

Enclosures

Major F. Riddick, Jr., Chief Administrative Officer cc: Joy A. Russell, Chief of Staff Terry Bell, Council Liaison Terry L. Bellamy, Director, Department of Public Works and Transportation

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building • 1301 McCormick Drive, Largo, MD 20774 (301) 952-4131 • <u>www.princegeorgescountymd.gov</u>